Program of studies

The core of the program of studies is made up of the basic and research seminar. While the basic seminar deals with fundamental theoretical texts on the subject of critique, the research seminar permits regular discussions of the doctoral projects, which are devoted to case studies. In this way, the connection between theory of critique and actual critical practices is maintained, in accordance with our research concept.

 

The first year is devoted to defining the theoretical and philosophical concepts and problems involved in the thematic nexus of "Cultures of Critique." The following three semesters will be devoted to access in various disciplines to the three areas of emphasis—art critique, media critique and social critique—in order to mutually elucidate their heterogeneous determination and developments. Also scheduled are workshops in Lüneburg and abroad, visiting lecturers and an international conference.

Types of events

At the center of the program of studies are the basic and research seminars, which both involve two semester hours per week. During semester breaks the regular cycle is reduced to a monthly meeting of the research seminar. The basic and research seminars are directed by the speaker and assistant speaker together with an applicant (on a rotation basis each semester): doctoral candidates will be actively involved in the planning and carrying out of the events.

 

Basic seminar (mandatory): in the weekly basic seminar, theoretical and methodological core texts on the subject of "Cultures of Critique" are introduced by the doctoral candidates (in response procedure) and discussed. The basic seminar is open to thematic departures and shifts in focus as needed. The texts will be chosen before the start of the semester by the doctoral candidates together with the professor in charge.

 

Research seminar (mandatory): in the weekly research seminar, each doctoral candidate reports once a semester on the status of their dissertation or other seminar project (presentation of exposés, chapters, results, methodological reflections), again using the response procedure. Advisors will be in attendance at the presentation of dissertation projects. Guests, associates or other colleagues at Leuphana can also be called in as wished.

 

Workshops (elective): As a rule, intensive work and discussion sessions lasting up to several days or organized as a series are held twice a semester (also in small groups depending on the research relevance). Here, doctoral candidates have the opportunity to invite as many as three guest scholars from Germany or abroad, in order to discuss more specific topics in the research program and current research issues in their dissertations. The workshops are planned in such a way that the topics of the third to fifth semester in the basic seminar—which are structured according to disciplines—are open to other disciplines. (Participation in at least one workshop per semester is mandatory)

 

Public evening lectures (mandatory): as a rule, four evening lectures on a relevant topic by guest scholars (including the workshop guests and Mercator Fellows) are scheduled each semester. The lectures are moderated by the doctoral candidates.

 

Feedback Workshops (elective): once a semester, doctoral candidates may discuss their individual projects with workshop guests or invited scholars. The scheduling is done by the doctoral candidates themselves, while the organization is done by the coordinator. (Participation in at least one feedback workshop during the three-year funding period is mandatory)

 

Writing workshops (elective): in a close linking of the theory and practice of critical writing, the effectiveness of different styles of writing and various medial procedures of representation will be tried out and reflected upon in the workshops. Cooperation with critics from the FAZ, SZ, Kunstforum International, Merkur and Texte zur Kunst will guarantee a practical relevance and permit networking in future professions. The collaboration with online platforms such as terra critica will introduce digital forms of publication of critique. Doctoral candidates may choose one of the guest critics as a mentor to accompany them during the process of writing their dissertation. This elective is under the direction of Prof. Dr. Andreas Bernard. (Participation in one writing workshop is mandatory)

 

International conference (mandatory): at the end of the second year, an international conference will be held on a topic to be determined in conjunction with the doctoral candidates. The limitation to only one conference per cohort is due to a concern to give doctoral candidates enough time for intensive work aimed at a rapid completion of their dissertation. Regular exchanges with external scholars will be provided by smaller, and so more specific formats, such as workshops and feedback workshops intended to address the issues of the projects.

Integration into the Leuphana doctoral program

The mandatory program of studies for each doctoral candidates in the research training group is coordinated with the doctoral program (Promotionsstudium ) of the Leuphana Graduate School. In addition to individual work on the dissertation and the thesis defense, the doctoral regulations of the Department of Cultural Studies at Leuphana require the acquisition of 25 CPs through attendance of module units. These requirements are fully covered by the program of studies of the research training group.

 

Above and beyond the compulsory program of studies internal to the seminar, doctoral candidates are free to attend the courses of the doctoral seminar at Leuphana, such as the interdisciplinary module on Scientific Practice/Ethics, Philosophy of Science, or methodological modules for specific disciplines (for example, at the doctoral programs Representation Visuality Knowledge, Philosophy, Literature & History, Knowledge Cultures and Digital Media and Sociology and Cultural Organisation). It is suggested that doctoral candidates attend accompanying courses that transmit such key qualifications as techniques of presentation and rhetoric.

Studienprogramm

Den Kern des Studienprogramms bilden das Basis- und das Forschungskolleg. Während im Basiskolleg theoretische Grundlagentexte zum Thema Kritik erörtert werden, dient das Forschungskolleg der regelmäßigen Diskussion der Promotionsvorhaben, die Fallstudien gewidmet sind. So wird, der Forschungsidee entsprechend, der Bezug zwischen Theorien von Kritik und konkreten kritischen Praktiken stets wachgehalten.

Im ersten Jahr werden theoretisch-philosophische Begriffsbestimmungen und Problemlagen zum Themenkomplex „Kulturen der Kritik“ erarbeitet. Die darauffolgenden drei Semester sind den disziplinären Zugängen in den drei Schwerpunktbereichen Kunstkritik, Medienkritik und Sozialkritik gewidmet, um deren heterogene Bestimmungen und Entfaltungen von Kritik wechselseitig zu erhellen. Weiterhin vorgesehen sind Workshops in Lüneburg sowie im Ausland, Gastvorträge und eine internationale Tagung.

Veranstaltungstypen

Im Zentrum des Studienprogramms stehen die Basis- und Forschungskollegs, die je 2 SWS umfassen und an einem wöchentlichen Jour fixe stattfinden. In der vorlesungsfreien Zeit wird der Turnus auf ein monatliches Forschungskollegtreffen reduziert. Basis- und Forschungskollegs werden jeweils von der Sprecherin und dem stellvertretenden Sprecher gemeinsam mit einer_m weiteren Antragsteller_in (im Semesterwechsel) betreut, wobei die Kollegiat_innen aktiv in die Veranstaltungsplanung und -durchführung eingebunden werden.

Basiskolleg (obligatorisch): Im wöchentlich stattfindenden Basiskolleg werden theoretische und methodische Kerntexte zum Thema „Kulturen der Kritik“ durch die Kollegiat_innen im Response-Verfahren vorgestellt und gemeinsam diskutiert. Je nach Bedarf ist das Basiskolleg offen für thematische Abweichungen und Fokusverschiebungen. Die Texte werden vor Semesterbeginn von den Kollegiat_innen gemeinsam mit den veranstaltenden Professor_innen ausgewählt.

Forschungskolleg (obligatorisch): Im wöchentlich stattfindende Forschungskolleg berichten alle Kollegiat_innen einmal im Semester zum Stand der Dissertations- oder anderer Kollegprojekte (Vorstellung von Exposés, Kapiteln, Arbeitsergebnissen sowie Methodenreflexionen), ebenfalls im Response-Verfahren. Bei der Präsentation von Dissertationsprojekten sind die jeweiligen Betreuer_innen anwesend. Gäste, etwa Assoziierte oder weitere Kolleg_innen aus der Leuphana, können auf Wunsch hinzugezogen werden.

Workshops (Wahlpflicht): Die intensiven, teils mehrtägigen oder in Serie angelegten Arbeits- und Diskussionsveranstaltungen finden i.d.R. zweimal im Semester statt, auch – je nach Forschungsinteresse – in kleineren Gruppen. Die Kollegiat_innen haben hier regelmäßig die Möglichkeit, bis zu drei Gastwissenschaftler_innen aus dem In- oder Ausland einzuladen, um spezifischere Themen aus dem Forschungsprogramm und aktuelle Forschungsfragen aus den Dissertationen zu diskutieren. Die Workshops werden so geplant, dass sie die im dritten bis fünften Semester fachdisziplinär strukturierten Themen des Basiskollegs interdisziplinär öffnen. (Wahlpflicht: Teilnahme an mindestens einem Workshop pro Semester)

Hochschulöffentliche Abendvorträge (obligatorisch): Pro Semester sind im Regelfall vier Abendvorträge von Gastwissenschaftler_innen (darunter die Workshop-Gäste und die Mercator-Fellows) zu einem für das jeweilige Semester relevanten Thema geplant. Die Vorträge werden von den Kollegiat_innen moderiert.

Feedback-Workshops (Wahlpflicht): In kleinen Diskussionsrunden können die Kollegiat_innen einmal im Semester ihre Einzelprojekte mit Workshop-Gästen oder eigens geladenen Wissenschaftler_innen besprechen. Die Terminierung erfolgt in Eigenregie der Kollegiat_innen, die Organisation übernimmt die_der Koordinator_in. (Die Teilnahme an mindestens einem der Feedback-Workshops während der dreijährigen Förderdauer ist verbindlich.)

Schreibwerkstätten (Wahlpflicht): In einer dichten Verklammerung von Theorie und Praxis des kritischen Schreibens werden in den Werkstätten Wirkungspotenziale unterschiedlicher Schreibstile und verschiedener medialer Darstellungsverfahren durch eigenhändige Erprobung reflektiert. Kooperationen mit Kritiker_innen der FAZ, der SZ, Kunstforum international, Merkur und Texte zur Kunst sichern die Praxisnähe und erlauben die Vernetzung in mögliche Berufsfelder. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Onlineplattformen wie terra critica bezieht digitale Publikationsformen von Kritik ein. Auf Wunsch können die Kollegiat_innen eine_n der eingeladenen Kritiker_innen als Mentor_in wählen, die_der sie beim Schreibprozess während der Promotionszeit begleitet. Die Leitung dieses Bereichs liegt bei Prof. Dr. Andreas Bernard. (Der Besuch einer Schreibwerkstatt ist einmalig verpflichtend.)

Internationale Konferenz (obligatorisch): Am Ende des zweiten Jahres wird eine internationale Konferenz zu einem in Absprache mit den Kollegiat_innen zu bestimmenden Themenkomplex stattfinden. Die Beschränkung auf nur eine Konferenz pro Kohorte ist dem Anliegen geschuldet, den Kollegiat_innen genug Raum für intensives, auf den zügigen Abschluss der Dissertationen gezieltes Arbeiten zu gewähren. Der regelmäßige Austausch mit auswärtigen Wissenschaftler_innen wird durch kleinere, daher spezifischere Formate wie Workshops und Feedbackworkshops gewährleistet, die auf die Fragestellungen der Projekte zugeschnitten sind.

Einbindung in das Promotionsprogramm der Leuphana

Das für jede_n Kollegiat_in verpflichtende Studienprogramm des Graduiertenkollegs ist mit dem Promotionsstudium der Leuphana Graduate School abgestimmt. Neben der eigenständigen Arbeit an der Dissertation und der Disputation sieht die Promotionsordnung der Fakultät Kulturwissenschaften der Leuphana den Erwerb von 25 CP durch den Besuch von Modulveranstaltungen vor. Diese Leistungsanforderungen werden vom Studienprogramm des Graduiertenkollegs vollständig abgedeckt.

Über das verpflichtende, kolleginterne Studienprogramm hinaus steht es den Kollegiat_innen frei, die Veranstaltungen der Promotionskollegs der Leuphana wahrzunehmen, etwa die fachübergreifenden Module zur Wissenschaftspraxis/-ethik, Wissenschaftstheorie sowie die fachspezifischen Methodenmodule (z.B. in den Promotionskollegs Darstellung Visualität Wissen, Philosophie, Literatur & Geschichte, Wissenskulturen & Digitale Medien und Soziologie & Kulturorganisation). Flankierende Veranstaltungen zur Vermittlung von Schlüsselqualifikationen wie Präsentationstechniken und Rhetorik werden den Kollegiat_innen empfohlen.

Studienprogramm im Überblick

Eingangsphase 1. Sem.

Basiskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

anr. als: Modul „Wissenschaftstheorie“*

Forschungskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

anr. als Modul „Forschungsmethoden“*

Workshop
1 × pro Sem.

2. Sem.

Basiskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

Forschungskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

anr. als: Modul „(Fachbezogenes) Forschungskolloquium“*

Workshop
2 × pro Sem.

Feedbackworkshop
1 × pro Sem.

Schreibwerkstatt
1 × mehrtägig

anr. als Modul „Wissenschaftspraxis und -ethik“*

Hauptphase 3. Sem.

Basiskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

Forschungskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

anr. als: Pflichtveranstaltung „Kolloquiumsvortrag“*

Workshop
2 × pro Sem.

Feedbackworkshop
1 × pro Sem.

Schreibwerkstatt
1 × mehrtägig

4. Sem.

Basiskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

Forschungskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

anr. als: Pflichtveranstaltung „Kolloquiumsvortrag“*

Workshop
1 × pro Sem.

Internationale Konferenz

Feedbackworkshop
1 × pro Sem.

5. Sem.

Basiskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

Forschungskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

Workshop
2 × pro Sem.

Feedbackworkshop
1 × pro Sem.

Schreibwerkstatt
1 × mehrtägig

Schlussphase 6. Sem.

Basiskolleg
optional

Forschungskolleg
wöch., 2-std.

Feedbackworkshop
optional

*Anmerkung: Die mit einem Asterisk gekennzeichneten Veranstaltungen des Graduiertenkollegs lassen sich für die jeweils ausgewiesenen Module des Promotionsstudiums der Leuphana anrechnen.