Cultural Studies


The six-semester long course of studies (3 years) begins with the Leuphana semester with which all students, regardless of future major, start. In the course of the second semester students start their specializations by selecting a major and a minor. The major represents the thematic focus of the studies, whose core is the so-called major modules, and is five-semesters long. The minor functions as a second specialization. In addition to the major and the minor all students complete, as of the second semester, an interdisciplinary program in comprehensive studies.

  • final degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
  • standard course length: 6 semester
  • deadline for applications: 15 July of each year
  • beginning of the course: October of each year (winter semester)
  • semester abroad: possible
  • Architecture
  • Cultural Organization and Communication
  • Development of Cultural Spaces
  • Cultural Theory and Analysis
  • Art and Visual Culture
  • Literary Cultures
  • Media Culture and Communication
  • Music and Auditory Culture

The cultural studies major can be combined with the minor fields listed below:

  • Business Administration
  • Educational Sciences
  • Digital Media/ Information Technology & Culture
  • Sustainability in Humanities
  • Sustainability in Natural Sciences
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Spatial Sciences
  • Law (Corporate and Business Law)
  • Economics
  • Business Psychology

Contact for study information

Infoportal in Building 8
Scharnhorststraße 1, Gebäude 8, EG
21335 Lüneburg
Fon +49.4131.677-2277
Fax +49.4131.677-2266