Latest Research News

Leuphana awards honorary doctorate to Pippa Norris

2019-07-04 Lüneburg. During this year's dies academicus on July 3, 2019, Leuphana University Lüneburg awarded the honorary doctorate of the Faculty of Cultural Sciences to Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Pippa Norris, PhD. With this award, Leuphana honours the scientist for her numerous ground-breaking contributions in the political and social sciences at the interface of science and practice.

Pippa Norris

Pippa Norris is one of the most important contemporary political scientists. She is Paul F McGuire Lecturer for Comparative Political Science at the John F Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University and Kathleen Fitzpatrick Laureate Fellow and Professor for Government and International Relations at the University of Sydney. She is an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and in 2011 (together with Ronald Inglehart) received the Johan Skytte Prize for her life's work – the highest honour that can be awarded internationally within political science.

Her research is based on the fundamental question of the prerequisites for functioning democratic institutions. In her comparative studies, she dealt with political institutions and cultures, public opinion and elections, gender politics and political communication in many countries of the world. She is one of the most frequently cited political scientists worldwide.

Pippa Norris was born in London in 1953. She first studied political science and philosophy at Warwick University, then earned her Master's and Doctorate degrees at the London School of Economics. Before moving to the prestigious John F Kennedy Institute of Government at Harvard University in 1993, she taught political science at Northumberland and Edinburgh University. She has since held a leading position in the United Nations Development Programme and has been a board member of the World Values Survey for many years.