Doctoral Research Groups

Exchange and advice

When accepted for a doctorate, each doctoral candidate automatically joins an existing doctoral research group. The doctoral research groups at the various faculties are designed to ensure regular discussions and exchange between doctoral students in a given field. They bring together students in related subject areas and at least three expert academic supervisors in the field in question.

Doctoral research groups operate in the four key research areas at Leuphana: education, culture, sustainability and management and entrepreneurship.

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Doctoral Research Group


Knowledge Cultures and Digital MediaProf. Dr. Erich Hörl
Philosophy, Literature and HistoryProf. Dr. Sven Kramer
Political ScienceProf. Dr. Christian Welzel
Representation Visuality KnowledgeProf. Dr. Beate Söntgen
Sociology and Cultural OrganisationProf. Dr. Timon Beyes
Urban and Cultural Area ResearchProf. Dr. Ursula Kirschner

Cultures of Critique
funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG)
(commencement of funding October 1, 2016)

Prof. Dr. Beate Söntgen

Democracy under stress
funded by the Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture
(funding period October 1, 2016 to September 30, 2020)

Prof. Dr. Christian Welzel

PriMus - PhD in Museums
funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research
(funding period January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017)

Prof. Dr. Susanne Leeb and
Prof. Dr. Beate Söntgen

Faculty of Sustainability

Doctoral Research Group


Sustainability ScienceProf. Dr. Brigitte Urban

Processes of Sustainability Transformation
funded by Robert Bosch Stiftung
(funding period October 1, 2017 to February 28, 2021)

Prof. Dr. Matthias Barth