Social and Political Psychology

Negotiation Research Group

The Negotiation Research Group (NRG) is affiliated to the Department of Social and Political Psychology and thus part of the Institute of Psychology at the Leuphana University of Lüneburg.

All researchers of the Social- and Political Psychology team are members of the Negotiation Research Group, working together in different constellations on the topic "Psychological Processes in Negotiation aimed at the Transition towards Sustainability". Together with former PhDs and post-doc researchers of the department, other negotiation researchers at Leuphana university, as well as colleagues from outside the Leuphana university, the NRG is particularly interested in the investigation of psychological processes in social-dilemma and transformation negotiations aimed at managing the transition towards sustainability.

In the ongoing research projects of the NRG social-dilemma negotiations are defined as an interactive, communicative, and creative decision-making process in which conflict parties seek to agree on mutually accepted decisions on how to contribute vs. distribute resources to vs. from the collective in order to balance individual parties’ (short-term) self-interests with all parties’ (long-term) collective interest.

Transformation negotiation are defined as interactive, communicative, and creative decision-making processes between conflict parties aimed at initiating, shaping, organizing, or managing the process of change in the context of economic, ecological, societal, or cultural transitions.

In a number of national third-party funded projects and international collaborations (e.g. German Research Foundation, Volkswagen Foundation, European Reginal Development Fund), the research group investigates how parties in negotiations can generate individual benefit, common benefit and societal benefit.

Moreover, we are more than happy to be continuously working with our cooperation partners, Adam Galinskiy, Ilana Ritov, Simon Moran, Hillie Aaldering, Fieke Harrinck, Peter Gollwitzer, Joachim Hüffmeier and Stefan Schulz-Hardt. For further details on the different research topics of each team member please visit their respective homepages.