The University:
Facts and Figures

Honors and awards

    • 2017: For the third time in a row, Leuphana took first place in the founding radar, the ranking of the Stifterverband
    • 2016: Coordinating professors Timo Ehmke, Dominik Leiß and Torben Schmidt are awarded the Fundraising Prize for Research for their outstanding success in fundraising as part of the BMBF initiative "Quality Offensive Teacher Education".
    • 2015: The web video service Hyperbole TV of Leuphana University Lüneburg was awarded the Grimme online Award 2015 in the category Culture and Entertainment
    • 2015: Leopoldina membership awarded to Prof. Dr. Christian Welzel
    • 2015: Prof. Dr. Joachim Wagner reaches 10th place in the Handelsblatt Economics Ranking
    • 2013: Federal Minister Dr. Philip Rösler honours the university as one of the best German start-up universities in the "EXIST-Gründungskultur - Die Gründerhochschule" competition.
    • 2013: Leopoldina membership awarded to Prof. Dr. Michael Frese
    • 2012: The German UNESCO Commission has honoured Prof. Dr. Andreas Fischer of Leuphana University Lüneburg and declared his project 'BBS-futur' to be the official project of the UN Decade of Education for Sustainable Development.
    • 2012: The programme "MindMatters", funded by the Center for Applied Health Sciences of Leuphana University Lüneburg, was awarded the Antistigma Prize by the DGPPN.
    • 2011: Leuphana University is one of the four winners of the International Awards for Innovative Practices in Higher Education.
    • 2011: The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) has awarded Leuphana University Lüneburg the ERASMUS Seal of Quality "E-Quality 2011".
    • 2010: The International Sustainable Campus Network (ISCN) has presented Leuphana University of Lüneburg with the International Sustainable Campus Excellence Award for its outstanding commitment to sustainability and environmental management.
    • 2009: Daniel Libeskind's planned central building wins the competition "Architecture with Energy" of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology for its sustainable energy concept.

    Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen: Students of Leuphana

      • 2017: Tom Schmidt
        As co-founder and spokesman of the alliance ‘Hochschule ohne Grenzen’, Tom Schmidt was awarded the “Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen“.
      • 2016: Marina Sahnwaldt
        Marina Sahnwaldt developed the concept ‘Klangsport’ which was considered within the application for the Olympics 2015. Furthermore she was student Vice Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. For these achievements she was awarded the “Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen“.
      • 2015: Johanna-Luise Hopp, Henning Siedentopp, Max Alexander Irmer, Nora Kiefer, Max Rauer
        Joahanna-Luise Hopp was awarded the “Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen” because of her active membership in the association ‚MUDDI Markt e.V.‘ and, among other things, her former student engagement as term spokesperson.
        Henning Siedentopp worked in the domain of sustainable entrepreneurship and was a mentor for aspiring and consisting social enterprises of the Social Change Hubs. Since 2014 he is manager of mela wear GmBH. The “Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen” was given to him because of these achievements.
        As members of the honorary association ‘Zum Kollektiv e.V.’, Max Alexander Irmer, Nora Kiefer and Max Raue contributed to the cultural diversity in Lüneburg. Together they were awarded the “Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen“.
      • 2013: Svea Blieffert, Steven A. Brieger
        Svea Bliffert worked at Greenpeace and the Jugendumweltwerk Niedersachsen. Moreover, she developed the interactive exhibition “Schenken 2.0 – Die Dinge im Fluss halten”. For these achievements she was awarded the “Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen“.
        Steven A. Brieger was part of several committees of the academic self-administration. Moreover, he was a founding member of the university group " Luneburg" and part of the student network for ethics in economics and practice “sneep“. He was awarded the "Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen".
      • 2012: Annika Weinert
        Besides her strong engagement as student member in several student-, assessment-, and profession committees, Annika Weinert proved commitment to the student association “” Lüneburg and was chairwoman of the organisation. She was awarded the "Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen".
      • 2010: Thies Johannsen
        Because of his strong engagement in the academic self-administration and his membership in the student project “Alternative DenkRäume”, Thies Johannsen was awarded the “Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen".
      • 2009: Timo Barfknecht
        As a founding member of the Fachgruppenvertretung B.A. Bildungswissenschaften as well as the Fachgruppenvertretung M.A. Educational Sciences and as developer of an internet-based communication platform for students, Timo Barfknecht was awarded the “Wissenschaftspreis Niedersachsen“.