Studies: Master of Arts in Applied Cultural Studies

Graduation year: 2008

Professional career: Since July 1, 2021, I have been working at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security, and Law in Freiburg. I work there as a Talent Acquisition Manager/Recruiting Officer. My role involves developing and implementing a medium- and long-term recruitment strategy to attract outstanding Ph.D. students and postdocs from around the world to the Freiburg Institute and the Max Planck Law network.

When I look back on my time at Leuphana today, I...

... I remember the small, exciting research and fundraising projects that we were allowed to carry out independently in small groups.

How did your studies prepare you for your current job?

Studying at Leuphana prepared me for the international and interdisciplinary environment in which I operate professionally through independence, project work, and above all, transdisciplinary.

What are the advantages of studying at Leuphana?

Studying in a pleasant and appreciative atmosphere.

To whom would you recommend studying at Leuphana?

Studying at Leuphana does not follow a rigid curriculum and therefore requires self-organization, commitment, and curiosity. In my studies of Applied Cultural Studies, I was able to familiarize myself with very different topics and issues. This is an enrichment for my own education. In Lüneburg, I also discovered my interest in the African continent, with which I am now closely connected professionally.

What experience can I bring to the table as an Alumni Angel?

I have distinguished experience in the internationalization of scientific institutions and have worked at several German institutions. Setting up and shaping cooperations with partners in Asia, Africa & Latin America are as much part of my portfolio as the successful acquisition of third-party funding in science & education. I worked as a leader for international teams for several years, accompanied by excellent training from the Helmholtz Association. In addition, I work, lecture, and publish as a scientist.

REGARDING THESE SUBJECTS, I CAN SUPPORT STUDENTS AND SCIENTISTS

Career entry
Career planning
Internships
Study abroad
Time management
Definition of objectives
Stress management
Volunteering
Finding a research focus
Exposé for promotion
Supervision of a PhD project
Career in Science Management

Portrait Annika Hampel ©Annika Hampel
Portrait Annika Hampel

Studium: 

Magister Angewandte Kulturwissenschaften

 

Abschlussjahr: 

2008

 

Berufliche Karriere:

Seit 1. Juli 2021 arbeite ich am Max-Planck-Institut zur Erforschung von Kriminalität, Sicherheit und Recht in Freiburg. Dort bin ich als Talent Acquisition Manager/Recruiting Officer tätig. Meine Aufgabe umfasst die Erarbeitung und Umsetzung einer mittel- und langfristigen Rekrutierungsstrategie, um herausragende Doktorand*innen und Postdocs aus aller Welt für das Freiburger Institut und das Netzwerk Max Planck Law zu gewinnen.

Wenn ich heute auf meine Zeit an der Leuphana zurückblicke, dann...

... erinnere ich mich an die kleinen spannenden Forschungs- und Fundraisingprojekte, die wir in Kleingruppen eigenständig durchführen durften.

 

Wie hat Sie das Studium auf Ihre heutige Tätigkeit vorbereitet?

Das Studium an der Leuphana hat mich durch Eigenständigkeit, Projektarbeit und vor allem Transdisziplinarität auf mein internationales und interdisziplinäres Umfeld, in dem ich mich beruflich bewege, vorbereitet.

 

Welche Vorteile bietet das Studium an der Leuphana?

Studieren in einer angenehmen und wertschätzenden Atmosphäre.

 

Wem würden Sie das Studium an der Leuphana empfehlen?

Das Studium an der Leuphana verläuft nach keinem starren Studienplan und verlangt daher Selbstorganisation, Engagement und Neugierde. In meinem Studium der Angewandten Kulturwissenschaften habe ich mich in ganz unterschiedliche Themen und Fragestellungen einarbeiten dürfen. Das ist eine Bereicherung für die eigene Bildung. In Lüneburg habe ich auch mein Interesse für den afrikanischen Kontinent entdeckt, mit dem ich heute beruflich eng verbunden bin.

 

Welche Erfahrungen kann ich als Alumni Angel einbringen?

Ich habe profilierte Erfahrung in der Internationalisierung von Wissenschaftsinstitutionen und habe an mehreren deutschen Häusern gearbeitet. Kooperationsaufbau und -gestaltung mit Partnern in Asien, Afrika & Lateinamerika gehören ebenso zu meinem Portfolio wie die erfolgreiche Drittmittelakquise in Wissenschaft & Bildung. Als Führungskraft für internationale Teams war ich mehrere Jahre tätig, begleitet durch eine exzellente Ausbildung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Daneben arbeite, präsentiere und publiziere ich als Wissenschaftlerin.