Studies: Diplom. (FH) Computer Science & Business Informatics

Graduation year: 1999

Professional career: I am the owner of a software company with integrated management consulting for the development and implementation of KPI-based decision making and business management with a focus on various industries.

When I look back on my time at Leuphana today, I...

...I always like to think of one or the other smart remarks of professors, like e.g.: "Stefan... I know what you mean but you don't say it. Say what you mean." or "If you can't describe the meaning, purpose, and structure of your thesis on a 3/4 DIN A 4 page, then you haven't dealt with your thesis sufficiently.”

How did your studies prepare you for your current job?

"Finish things", "Set criteria and evaluate with them before you decide.", "Always work precisely and systemically enough and neatly delineate what needs to be looked at from the rest.", "The others also only boil with water. Make sure yours is always at the right temperature."

What are the advantages of studying at Leuphana?

You learn how "lifelong learning" works and why many people often must learn it first, even though they think they know the term and what it means. Above all, the "Leuphana semesters" ensure that as many students as possible start their studies with a similar, comparable minimum toolset and mindset. This reduces frictional losses, especially at the beginning, and ensures much more cooperative and cross-thematic collaboration and study.

To whom would you recommend studying at Leuphana?

"Studying is what you make of it." Anyone who recognizes these words as fitting for themselves and has a desire for a very contemporary form of studying at a renowned university, which was born on the firm conviction that one can and must change everything that is worthy of or in need of change, will be successful at Leuphana and take it with them as their alma mater into a successful time after graduation.

What experience can I bring to the table as an alumni angel?

In addition to 25 years of professional experience as an employee and (10 of them as) an entrepreneur, I also bring a good dose of realism and at the same time have retained the conviction that you can always achieve a good deal more than you think you can and that, very often, all you need is a person who will lend you their ear and share their opinion. My company celebrates its 10th anniversary in 2020 and not only that, but I would also do it again and again and the joy and satisfaction in what I do is not only undiminished, but it is increasing!

REGARDING THESE SUBJECTS, I CAN SUPPORT STUDENTS AND SCIENTISTS

Career entry
Definition of objectives
Business start-up

Portrait Stefan Manzke ©Copyright (c) 1998 Hewlett-Packard Company
Blindportrait

Studium: 

Diplom. (FH) Informatik & Wirtschaftsinformatik

 

Abschlussjahr: 

1999

 

Berufliche Karriere:

Ich bin Inhaber eines Softwarehauses mit integrierter Unternehmensberatung für den Aufbau und die Einführung von kennzahlengestützter Entscheidungsfindung und Unternehmensführung mit Schwerpunkten in verschiedenen Branchen.

Wenn ich heute auf meine Zeit an der Leuphana zurückblicke, dann...

...denke ich immer wieder gern an den einen oder anderen klugen Hinweis des*der einen oder anderen Professor*in wie z.B. : "Stefan... ich weiß was Sie meinen aber Sie sagen es nicht. Sagen Sie was Sie meinen." oder  "Wenn Sie Sinn, Zweck und Struktur Ihrer Diplomarbeit nicht auf einer 3/4 DIN A 4 Seite vormulieren können dann haben Sie sich noch nicht ausreichend mit Ihrer Diplomarbeit beschäftigt.".

 

Wie hat Sie das Studium auf Ihre heutige Tätigkeit vorbereitet?

"Bringe Dinge zuende".
"Setze Kriterien fest und bewerte mit ihnen bevor du entscheidest."
"Arbeite immer präzise und systemisch genug und grenze das zu Betrachtende sauber ab vom Rest."
"Die anderen kochen auch nur mit Wasser. Sorge dafür, dass Deines immer die richtige Temperatur hat."

 

Welche Vorteile bietet das Studium an der Leuphana?

Du lernst, wie "lebenslanges Lernen" geht und warum Viele das oft erst lernen müssen, obwohl sie den Begriff und seine Bedeutung zu kennen glauben. 
Vor allem die "Leuphana-Semester" sorgen dafür, dass möglichst alle Studierenden mit in etwa ähnlichem, vergleichbaren Mindest-ToolSet und MindSet in das Studium einsteigen. Das vermindert vor allem zum Beginn Reibungsverluste und sorgt für deutlich kooperativeres und themenübergreifendes Zusammenarbeiten und Studieren.

 

Wem würden Sie das Studium an der Leuphana empfehlen?

"Studium ist, was Du daraus machst." Jeder, der diese Worte als für sich passend anerkennt und Lust hat auf eine sehr zeitgemäße Form des Studierens an einer renommierten Universität, die entstanden ist auf der festen Überzeugung, dass man alles das ändern kann und auch muss, was änderungswürdig oder -bedürftig ist, der wird an der Leuphana erfolgreich sein und sie als seine Alma Mater mitnehmen in eine erfolgreiche Zeit nach dem Studium.

 

Welche Erfahrungen kann ich als Alumni Angel einbringen?

Ich bringe neben 25 Jahren Berufserfahrung als Arbeitnehmer und (davon 10 als) Unternehmer auch eine gehörige Portion Realismus mit und habe mir gleichzeitig die Überzeugung erhalten, dass man immer ein gutes Stück mehr erreichen kann als man meint und dazu sehr oft einfach nur eine Person braucht, die einem sein*ihr Ohr und seine*ihre Meinung teilt. Mein Unternehmen feiert in 2020 sein 10 jähriges Jubiläum und nicht nur das, ich würde es immer wieder so machen und die Freude und Zufriedenheit an dem was ich mache, ist nicht nur ungebrochen, sie nimmt zu!