#standwithukraine

Solidarity with Ukraine

Leuphana University Lüneburg declares its solidarity with the Ukrainian people who have become victims of a war of aggression by the armed forces of the Russian Federation in violation of international law. Our thoughts and sympathy are with the children, women and men who are now suffering from military aggression and whose freedom is threatened. More

Support and Funding for Researchers

ERA4Ukraine

The European Commission supports researchers from Ukraine with the initiative ERA4Ukraine. The website maps existing support measures at the European level and at the national level of EU countries. Information is provided in English and Ukrainian.

German Research Foundation (DFG)

Refugee researchers can apply for funding to carry out their own project in Germany via the Walter Benjamin Programme (Walter Benjamin Fellowship).
In addition, project leaders and universities can submit supplementary applications to include qualified refugees - prospective or doctoral scientists - in approved DFG projects.

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation: Philipp Schwartz Initiative

In the framework of the Philipp Schwartz Initivative researchers who are exposed to considerable and persistent personal danger in their country of origin can be hosted by a German university or research institution to continue their academic work with a research fellowship or employment contract. programme

Scholars at risk

The German section of the global Scholars at Risk network is an alliance of German universities, research institutions, and science organisations that work to support and protect scholars at risk and the freedom of science.

Contact Leuphana for Researchers

  • Claudia Wölk

Support for students


Visiting student programme

We offer students from Ukrainian universities affected by the war in Ukraine a free guest study programme. Students can enroll in two modules and earn ECTS credits. Classes of the summer semester started on 4 April 2022. Registration were possible until May 1.

German language courses

For students from Ukrainian universities we currently offer a German language course starting on May 13. Further information is to be found on the webpages of the Language Centre

Housing support

If necessary, we will arrange accommodation for Ukrainian students and scholars in cooperation with local authorities.

Financial support

We will, to the best of our ability as a university, provide or attempt to arrange financial support for students affected by the war in Ukraine, if needed.

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) grants students and doctoral candidates at risk who are formally or de facto denied the right to education in their country of origin the opportunity to take up or continue their studies in Germany and to obtain a degree or doctorate at a German university. DAAD- Hilde Domin Programme

Psychological Counselling

The Psychological Counselling Centre of the Studentenwerk Ost Niedersachsen, the pastoral care of the Protestant and Catholic university congregations and the Student Telephone Counselling Service are available to advise students in crisis situations.

Contact Leuphana for students

  • Claudia Wölk

Further support and information

Solidarity for Ukraine and Ukrainian researchers and students

News sources with reliable information (selection)

Events

#standwithukraine

Solidaritätserklärung

Die Leuphana Universität Lüneburg erklärt sich solidarisch mit den Menschen in der Ukraine, die zum Opfer eines in eklatanter Weise das Völkerrecht verletzenden Angriffskrieges von Streitkräften der Russischen Förderation geworden sind. Unsere Gedanken und unser Mitgefühl sind bei den Kindern, Frauen und Männern, die jetzt unter der militärischen Aggression leiden müssen und in ihrer Freiheit bedroht sind. Weiterlesen

Unterstützung und Förderung von Wissenschaftler:innen

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Geflüchtete Forschende können ein eigenes Vorhaben zur Durchführung in Deutschland über das Walter Benjamin-Programm beantragen. Anträge können jederzeit gestellt werden.
Außerdem können Projektleitungen und Hochschulen Zusatzanträge stellen, um qualifizierte Geflüchtete – angehende oder promovierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler – in bereits geförderte DFG-Projekte einzubinden.

ERA4Ukraine

Die Europäische Kommission unterstützt Forschende aus der Ukraine mit der Initiative ERA4Ukraine. Auf der Webseite werden Unterstützungs-Maßnahmen auf europäischer Ebene und auf Ebene europäischer Länder abgebildet. Die Informationen sind in englischer und ukrainischer Sprache verfügbar.

Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung: Philipp-Schwartz-Initiative

Im Rahmen der Philipp-Schwartz-Initiative können Wissenschaftler:innen, die in ihrem Herkunftsland erheblicher und anhaltender persönlicher Gefährdung ausgesetzt sind, von einer deutschen Hochschule oder Forschungseinrichtung aufgenommen werden und mit einem Forschungsstipendien oder einer arbeitsvertraglichen Anstellung ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit fortzusetzen. Zu den Programminformationen

Scholars at risk

Die deutsche Sektion des globalen Scholars at Risk-Netzwerkes ist ein Zusammenschluss deutscher Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Wissenschaftsorganisationen, die sich für die Unterstützung und den Schutz gefährdeter Forschender und die Freiheit der Wissenschaft einsetzen.

Kontakt zur Leuphana für Wissenschaftler:innen

  • Claudia Wölk

Unterstützung für Studierende

Gaststudium

Wir bieten vom Krieg in der Ukraine betroffenen Studierenden ukrainischer Hochschulen ein kostenloses Gaststudium an. Es können zwei Module belegt und ECTS Credits erworben werden.

Die Vorlesungen des Sommersemesters haben am 4. April 2022 begonnen. Die Anmeldefrist endete am 1. Mai.

Unterkunft

Wir vermitteln bei Bedarf in Zusammenarbeit mit kommunalen Stellen Unterkünfte für ukrainische Studierende und Wissenschaftler:innen.

Finanzielle Unterstützung

Wir werden nach unseren Möglichkeiten als Universität bei Bedarf für eine finanzielle Unterstützung von vom Krieg in der Ukraine betroffene Studierende sorgen oder versuchen, eine solche zu vermitteln.

Der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) bietet mit dem Hilde Domin-Programm gefährdeten Studierenden und Doktorand:innen, denen in ihrem Herkunftsland formal oder de facto das Recht auf Bildung verweigert wird, die Möglichkeit, ein Studium in Deutschland aufzunehmen oder fortzusetzen und einen Studien- oder Promotionsabschluss an einer deutschen Hochschule zu erlangen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie beim DAAD

Psychologische Beratung

Die Psychologische Beratungsstelle des Studentenwerks Ost Niedersachsen, die Seelsorge der evangelischen und katholischen Hochschulgemeinden und die Studentische Telefonseelsorge stehen für die Beratung Studierender in Krisensituationen zur Verfügung.

Kontakt zur Leuphana für Studierende

  • Claudia Wölk

Allgemeine Informationen und Unterstützung

Solidarität mit der Ukraine und ukrainischen Wissenschaftler:innen und Studierenden

Nachrichtenquellen mit verlässlichen Informationen (Auswahl)