Zoom

For online and hybrid teaching and to support work in the home office, the Leuphana offers a meeting license for the video conferencing solution ZOOM for all teachers. The AVM service of the MIZ sends all lecturers an invitation for a Zoom account by mail before the start of the semester. If you have not received the invitation or the account is no longer active, please contact the AVM Service (avm-service@leuphana.de) Please do not download the Zoom software (=client) via the Zoom websites, but via the Leuphana intranet (VPN required).
 


SPECIAL NOTES

Updates. The ZOOM client does not always update automatically to the latest version. Please let the program check for updates regularly (e.g. on a weekly basis) to get the latest security patches and features. TO SEARCH FOR NEW UPDATES: 1. Open the client (blue camera icon on your computer) 2. Click on your small profile picture in the upper right corner of the window 3. A drop-down menu opens. Select "Check for Updates." 4. If the search shows that a new update is available, install it.
An illustrated instruction how to update Zoom depending on the operating system you are using can be found further down on this page.

Regular meeting licenses for lecturers allow a group size of max. 300 participants. If you need a license with more capacity, please contact digi-support@leuphana.de. AVM colleagues can further provide you on loan with a license for a large meeting with up to 500 participants or a webinar license, which can hold up to 1000 participants and has a few more differences to the regular license.

Privacy configurations in Zoom. To ensure that your personal data is protected in the best possible way, we have configured ZOOM in all functional areas so that only a minimum of data is transferred and stored. All presets are selected to give users the best possible control over the disclosure of data. An overview of the corresponding configurations as well as further recommendations and notes from the data protection officer on the data-sensitive use of Zoom can be found at the bottom of this page.

Recording of video conferences, webinars etc. . For reasons of data protection and copyright, it is NOT allowed to record seminar sessions - even if the participants have given their consent. However, it is allowed that you record yourself e.g. during a lecture or a PowerPoint presentation. With myVideo you can have your screen recorded. How to do this screencast recording with different operating systems can be found in the instructions on our myVideo page. Further instructions for teachers on how to record video conferences can be found under the keyword CONFIGURATIONS on this page

 


MANUALS
 

Zoom IntroductionScript of the short introduction to basic functionalities of Zoom from 03/16/2021
Zoom Training ScriptScript of Zoom training for teachers with basic knowledge in Zoom from 03/18/2021 with didactic hints and tips
Introduction to Zoom for StudentsBasic introduction to Zoom for students
First Steps - Creating MeetingsManual for creating video conferences via Zoom
First Steps - Joining MeetingsManual for joining videoconferences and installing Zoom
Zoom UpdateQuick guide on how to manually check for updates in Zoom Client
Mystudy-Zoom-IntegrationIllustrated quick guide to creating Zoom meetings from within myStudy
Moodle-Zoom-IntegrationTutorial on how to generate a zoom meeting room in Moodle.
Privacy-compliant Zoom settingsThis handout shows how you should set up Zoom to use the service in accordance with data protection principles

Extensive support information can also be found in the ZOOM Help Center.

  • Helpful Functions of Zoom
  • Configurations of zoom for data economy and recommendations for data-sensitive use of the service / End-to-end encryption
  • Contact & Support

Helpful Functions of Zoom

Share your screen

Both, you as a lecturer and your students, can share their screen with all participants, e.g. to watch a PowerPoint presentation together while one person is speaking, or to show how a particular software works, where to find information/ materials on myStudy, and so on. Instructions on how to unlock the screen for different operating systems can be found here on the official Zoom website. The requirement for screen sharing is the installation of the Zoom Desktop Client. Instructions for installing the client of Zoom under the various operating systems can be found here. Smartphone users will need Zoom's mobile app, available in the Google Play Store or Apple's App Store.
Write and work together on the whiteboard With Zoom's whiteboard function, you can create notes together with the participants. You can also create handwritten notes by connecting with a tablet, as a substitute for a chalkboard. You can find instructions for the whiteboard function in Zoom here on the official Zoom page.
Group work in breakout roomsWith the Breakout Rooms function, sub-rooms can be set up for working in smaller groups during session time. A guide from the AVM on how to do this can be found here. An English-language video tutorial from the official Zoom site on how to get started can be found here.
Using the meeting room without an instructor (host)If you want the participants to be able to use the meeting room before you join as the instructor, or if you are unable to attend the meeting at all, activate the "Enable participation before host" button in the settings screen when scheduling the meeting under "Advanced options". If you want participants to be able to continue using the meeting room without you after the meeting ends, click "End Meeting" at the bottom right of the screen and select "Leave Meeting" in the window that appears.
Zoom Plugin on myStudy and Moodle

An illustrated quick guide to creating Zoom meetings from myStudy is available from Leuphana here. In the meantime, meetings that are created via myStudy are automatically created as recurring meetings for the entire semester. It is therefore no longer necessary to create a new meeting for each session.

A quick guide from Leuphana on how to create Zoom meetings from within Moodle can be found here.

Virtual backgroundsThis allows you to choose a neutral background instead of the personal photo wallpaper or private vacation pictures, in front of which you can then see your own face. An English video tutorial  from the official Zoom site for this can be found here. Shared Leuphana images that can also be used as virtual backgrounds can be accessed in Leuphana's central image catalog (VPN required).
SurveysWith the meeting survey feature, you can create questions with one or more choices for your meetings. You can launch the poll during your meeting and collect responses from your attendees. You can find an English-language video tutorial here on the official Zoom page.

Configurations of zoom for data economy and recommendations for data-sensitive use of the service / End-to-end encryption

To ensure that your personal data is protected in the best possible way, we have configured ZOOM in all functional areas so that only a minimum of data is transmitted and stored. All default settings are selected to give users the best possible control over the disclosure of data. In detail we have made the following configurations. Furthermore, no teacher or student is forced to work with Zoom. Information on voluntary use of Zoom can be found at the bottom of this page.

Of course, the data protection supervisor of Leuphana has also comprehensively checked ZOOM.

  • The privacy policy for the use of Zoom at Leuphana can be found here.
  • A handout from the data protection management team that shows how you should set up Zoom to use the service in accordance with data protection principles can be found here.

Other universities have also decided to use ZOOM for lectures. One example is RWTH Aachen University, which also publishes important information and links to further information and articles on the subject of ZOOM and data security on its website. Click here for the website "ZOOM- Security and Data Protection" of RWTH Aachen University (only available in German).
 

Participation in Meetings:
  • All meetings start with the participant video turned off. The video image must be actively switched on by the participants.
  • Upon entering the meeting, participants are muted. Thus, this has to be activated as well.
  • Display of e-mail addresses by watermark is disabled.
  • A password is set by default for all meetings, even for participation by phone. This may override this setting.
  • Feedback to ZOOM at the end of a meeting is disabled.
  • Remote control via screen sharing is disabled.
  • Remote assistance is disabled.
  • Camera remote control is disabled.
  • Attention tracking is disabled.
  • Host notification for the entering of antendees before the host does is disabled.
  • Automatic notification of participants when a meeting is cancelled is disabled.
Technical Settings:
  • Encryption of all data between the Zoom Cloud, Zoom Client and Zoom Room.
  • When there are only two people in a meeting, a peer-to-peer connection is established.
  • Sending emails via the ZOOM website is disabled.
  • Snapshot in the iOS task switching feature is blurred to hide any confidential information from the Zoom main window snapshot. This snapshot is displayed as a preview screen in the iOS task switching feature when multiple apps are open.
  • By default, screen sharing always requires a specific application to be shared; sharing the entire desktop is disabled. This default setting can be changed in the personal settings.
Data exchange with Other Services
  • Data exchange with Office 365 is disabled.
  • CDN usage is disabled.
Meeting Content Storage:
  • Saving of chat communication is disabled for the host and participants.
  • Automatic saving of whiteboard content is disabled.
  • Recording of meetings in the ZOOM cloud is disabled.
  • Local recording of meetings is disabled, but can be overridden by the host.
  • Automatic recording at start of a meeting is generally disabled.
  • Participants must give permission to record a meeting.
  • Audio notifications when meeting recording starts or restarts.
Recording a Video Conference

Recording a Regular Video Conference

  • Select the speaker view.
  • Pin your own video image.
  • Mute all participants.
  • Only then activate the recording.

Recording a Split-Screen Video Conference

  • Mute all participants.
  • Share the desired screen content.
  • Switch the thumbnail view to "Show active speaker video" or "Hide thumbnail video".
  • Only then activate the recording.
Instructor Guide Lines for Recording Video Conferences

To ensure that neither the picture nor sound of the participants in your ZOOM session is recorded, follow the steps below. Please always observe the protection of personal rights (right to one's own image and sound; see note at the top of this page):

Further Recommendations for a Data Sensitive Use of Zoom:

The management of the Media and Information Centre (MIZ) has sent a mail to all members of the university to provide comprehensive information about Zoom and to give further recommendations and advice in order to avoid the unwanted use of tracking services (Google Analytics and others) on the Zoom web pages:

  • Please do not download the zoom software from the zoom web pages, but from the Leuphana intranet at www.leuphana.de/intranet/zoom (VPN required).
  • Please use only the Zoom desktop application and not the Zoom website to start or join meetings.
  • Please do not download to Zoom meetings via the invitation link generated by Zoom, but instead only provide the meeting ID and meeting password to participants. In the desktop application you can enter the ID and password to start or join a meeting.
  • Please make sure you also use the possibility to create zoom meetings directly in myStudy or to get access to the meeting ID and the meeting password via myStudy in the course.

The complete information of the Media and Information Centre (MIZ) can be found here.

Notes on the voluntary use of Zoom

No one is forced to work with Zoom. Teachers are free to design their teaching e.g. also as "moderated self-study", which essentially consists of providing literature + tasks via mail or myStudy. Communication with students can also take place via e-mail and e.g. telephone consultation hours. Students are also free to use the services provided by the teachers via Zoom. Those who do not wish to do so can either study the content on their own (even in the virtual world there is no obligation to be present), or they can decide to take a part-time or holiday semester. In view of the current situation, the university management has defined the requirements for this very broadly, so that students can make use of these options without any problems.

Unfortunately, extensive research and comparisons by MIZ have shown that there is no video conferencing provider on the German market that, like Zoom and GoToMeetging (the second software alternative for which Leuphana has acquired licenses), offers the necessary performance and stability in performance for large-scale use in university teaching and would also have even better data protection modalities. Against this background, it remains the decision of the individual to either use the Zoom and GoToMeeting solutions or to do without them.


End-to-end encryption

End-to-end encryption provides full encryption of meeting content between end users, so that no third parties (including Zoom itself) can view the meetings. When you create a meeting in the Zoom client, you need to select the "End-to-end encryption" option; an example which you can see here in the screenshot.

Please note that some functions are not available when using end-to-end encryption:

  •  no telephone dial-in and dial-in via SIP
  •  the "allow participation before host" feature is not available
  •  no breakout rooms
  •  no private chats in the meeting
  •  no voting or reactions (applause etc.)

If you create your Zoom meetings via myStudy, then you can choose the type of encryption directly while creating the meeting; you can see an example of this here in the screenshot. The Moodle plugin does not currently offer this option.

You can also get more information about end-to-end encryption directly from Zoom.

Contact & Support

Do you have any questions about the setup and didactical usage of Zoom?
If so, please contact the Support Team Digital Teaching at digi-support@leuphana.de

Zoom

Für die Online-  und die hybride Lehre sowie zur Unterstützung der Arbeit im Home-Office bietet die Leuphana für alle Lehrenden eine Meeting-Lizenz für die Videokonferenz-Lösung ZOOM an. Der AVM-Service des MIZ schickt allen Lehrenden vor Semesterbeginn per Mail eine Einladung für ein Zoom-Konto. Sollten Sie die Einladung nicht erhalten haben oder das Konto nicht mehr aktiv sein, wenden Sie sich an den AVM‐Service (avm-service@leuphana.de) Bitte laden Sie die Zoom-Software (=Client) nicht über die Zoom-Webseiten, sondern über das Intranet der Leuphana herunter (VPN erforderlich).

 

BESONDERE HINWEISE

Updates. Der ZOOM-Client aktualisiert sich nicht immer automatisch auf die neueste Version. Bitte lassen Sie das Programm regelmäßig (z.B. wöchentlich) nach Updates suchen, um die neusten Sicherheitspatches und Funktionen zu erhalten. SO SUCHEN SIE NACH NEUEN UPDATES: 1. Öffnen Sie den Client (blaues Kamera-Symbol auf Ihrem Rechner). 2. Klicken Sie oben rechts im Fenster auf Ihr kleines Profilbild. 3. Es öffnet sich ein Auswahlmenü. Wählen Sie dort: "Nach Updates suchen". 4. Wenn die Suche ergibt, dass ein neues Update verfügbar ist, installieren Sie dieses.
Eine bebilderte Anleitung wie Sie Zoom abhängig davon, welches Betriebssystem Sie nutzen, updaten können, finden Sie weiter unten auf dieser Seite unter ANLEITUNGEN.

Reguläre Meeting-Lizenzen für Lehrende erlauben eine Gruppengröße von max. 300 Teilnehmenden. Sollten Sie eine Lizenz mit mehr Kapazität benötigen, wenden Sie sich bitte an digi-support@leuphana.de. Die Kolleg*innen vom AVM-Service können Ihnen leihweise eine Lizenz für ein großes Meeting mit bis zu 500 Teilnehmer*innen oder eine Webinar-Lizenz zur Verfügung stellen, die bis 1000 Teilnehmer*innen fasst und einige weitere Unterschiede zur Meeting-Lizenz aufweist. Mehr Informationen zur Differenzierung von Webinar- bzw. Meetingslizenz finden Sie auch hier.

Datenschutzkonfigurationen in Zoom. Damit Ihre persönlichen Daten bestmöglich geschützt sind, haben wir ZOOM in allen Funktionsbereichen so konfiguriert, dass nur ein Minimum an Daten übertragen und gespeichert wird. Alle Voreinstellungen sind so gewählt, dass den Benutzer*innen bestmögliche Kontrolle über die Preisgabe von Daten erlaubt wird. Eine Übersicht über die entsprechenden Konfigurationen sowie weitere Empfehlungen und Hinweise des Datenschutzbeauftragten zur datensensiblen Nutzung von Zoom finden Sie unter KONFIGURATIONEN auf dieser Seite.

Aufzeichnungen von Videokonferenzen, Webinaren u.ä. Es ist aus Datenschutz- und Urheberrechtsgründen NICHT gestattet, Seminarsitzungen aufzuzeichnen – auch dann nicht, wenn die Teilnehmer*innen dazu ihre Zustimmung gegeben haben. Wohl aber ist es erlaubt, dass Sie sich selbst z.B. während eines Vortrags oder einer Powerpoint-Präsentation aufzeichnen. Mit myVideo können Sie Ihren Bildschirm aufzeichnen lassen. Wie Sie diese Screencast-Aufnahme mit unterschiedlichen Betriebssystemen durchführen, finden Sie in den Anleitungen auf unserer myVideo-Seite. Weiter Vorgaben für Lehrende für Aufzeichnungen von Videokonferenzen finden Sie unter dem Stichwort KONFIGURATIONEN auf dieser Seite.

  • Anleitungen für Zoom
  • Schulungen für Zoom
  • Hilfreiche Funktionen von Zoom im Überblick
  • Konfigurationen von Zoom zur Datensparsamkeit und Empfehlungen zur datensensiblen Nutzung des Dienstes
  • Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung
  • Kontakt & Support

Anleitungen für Zoom

Skript der Kurz-EinführungSkript der Kurz-Einführung in Grundfunktionalitäten von Zoom vom 16.03.2021 mit vielen Anleitungen
Skript der Zoom-Schulung      Skript der Zoom-Schulung für Lehrende mit Grundkenntnissen in Zoom vom 18.03.2021 mit didaktischen Hinweisen und Tipps
Zoom-Einführung für StudierendeEine bebilderte Kurzanleitung der Grundfunktionen für die Teilnahme an einem Zoom-Meeting
Erste Schritte - Meetings erstellenEine Anleitung für das Erstellen von Videokonferenzen via Zoom
Erste Schritte - Meetings beitretenEine Anleitung für das Beitreten von Videokonferenzen sowie die Installation von Zoom
Zoom UpdateEine Kurzanleitung, wie Sie im Zoom Client manuell nach Updates suchen
 
Mystudy-Zoom-Integration

Eine bebilderte Kurzanleitung zum Anlegen von Zoom-Meetings aus myStudy heraus

Moodle-Zoom-IntegrationEine Anleitung, wie Sie einen Zoom-Meetingraum in Moodle generieren
Breakout-Rooms Eine Anleitung des AVM zur Erstellung von Breakout-Rooms in Zoom
Datenschutzkonforme ZoomeinstellungenEmpfehlungen des Teams des Datenschutzmanagements für die datenschutzrelevanten Einstellungen in Zoom

Umfangreiche Support-Informationen finden Sie auch im Help Center von ZOOM.

Schulungen für Zoom

Der Leuphana Lehrservice bietet vor Semesterbeginn Schulungen für Zoom an.

Die nächsten Termine erfahren Sie immer in der Übersicht Workshops Digitale Lehre.

 

Hilfreiche Funktionen von Zoom im Überblick

Bildschirm teilenSowohl Sie als Lehrperson als auch die Studierenden können ihren Bildschirm mit allen Teilnehmer*innen teilen, um z.B. gemeinsam eine Powerpoint-Präsentation zu sehen, während eine Person dazu spricht, oder um zu zeigen, wie eine bestimmte Software funktioniert, wo man Informationen/Materialien auf myStudy findet usw. Ein englisches Videotutorial und eine deutschsprachige Anleitung zum Teilen des Bildschirms der offiziellen Zoom-Seite finden Sie hier. Voraussetzung zum Teilen des Bildschirms ist die Installation des Zoom Desktop Client. Hinweise zur Installation des Clients von Zoom unter den verschiedenen Betriebssystemen finden Sie hier. Smartphone Nutzer benötigen dafür die Mobile App von Zoom verfügbar im Google Play Store oder im App Store von Apple.
Gruppenarbeit in Breakout RoomsMit der Funktion Breakout Rooms lassen sich Sub-Räume für die Arbeit in kleineren Gruppen während der Sitzungszeit einrichten. Eine Anleitung des AVM dazu finden Sie hier. Ein englischsprachiges Videotutorial der offiziellen Zoom-Seite und eine Anleitung auf Deutsch zu den ersten Schritten finden Sie hier.
Whiteboard freigeben und nutzen Mit der Whiteboard-Funktion von Zoom können Sie gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmer*innen Notizen erstellen. Dies ist bei der Kopplung mit einem Tablet auch handschriftlich möglich, quasi als Tafelersatz. Eine Anleitung zur Whiteboard-Funktion in Zoom finden Sie hier auf der offiziellen Zoom-Seite.
Nutzung des Meetingraums ohne Kursleiter*in (Host)Wenn Sie möchten, dass die Kursteilnehmer*innen den Meetingraum auch nutzen können, bevor Sie als Kursleiter*in hinzukommen oder wenn Sie gar nicht an dem Meeting teilnehmen können, aktivieren Sie in der Einstellungsmaske beim Planen des Meeting unter "Erweiterte Optionen" den Button "Teilnahme vor dem Host ermöglichen“. Wenn Sie möchten, dass die Teilnehmer*innen den Meetingraum nach Veranstaltungsende auch ohne Sie noch weiter nutzen können, klicken Sie unten rechts im Bildschirm auf "Meeting beenden" und wählen im dann erscheinenden Fenster die Option "Meeting verlassen".
Zoom-Plugin in myStudy und Moodle

Eine bebilderte Kurzanleitung zum Anlegen von Zoom-Meetings aus myStudy gibt es von der Leuphana auf Deutsch und Englisch. Inzwischen werden Meetings, die über myStudy angelegt werden, automatisch als wiederkehrendes Meeting für das ganze Semester angelegt. Es ist daher nicht mehr erforderlich, für jede Sitzung ein neues Meeting anzulegen.

Eine Kurzanleitung der Leuphana zum Anlegen von Zoom-Meetings aus Moodle heraus finden Sie hier.

Virtuelle HintergründeDamit können Sie statt der persönlichen Fototapete oder privaten Urlaubsbildern einen neutralen Hintergrund wählen, vor dem dann das eigene Gesicht zu sehen ist. Ein englisches Videotutorial und eine deutschsprachige Anleitung der offiziellen Zoom-Seite dafür finden Sie hier. Freigegebene Leuphana-Bilder, die man auch als virtuelle Hintergründe verwenden kann, können Sie im zentralen Bilderkatalog der Leuphana abrufen (VPN erforderlich).
Umfragen erstellen

Mit der Umfragefunktion können Sie für Ihre Meetings Fragen mit einer oder mehreren Auswahlmöglichkeiten erstellen. Sie können die Umfrage während Ihres Meetings starten und die Antworten Ihrer Teilnehmer*innen sammeln. Eine deutschsprachige Anleitung sowie ein englischsprachiges Erklärvideo finden Sie hier auf der offiziellen Zoom-Seite.

    Konfigurationen von Zoom zur Datensparsamkeit und Empfehlungen zur datensensiblen Nutzung des Dienstes

    Damit Ihre persönlichen Daten bestmöglich geschützt sind, haben wir ZOOM in allen Funktionsbereichen so konfiguriert, dass nur ein Minimum an Daten übertragen und gespeichert wird. Alle Voreinstellungen sind so gewählt, dass den Benutzer*innen bestmögliche Kontrolle über die Preisgabe von Daten erlaubt wird. Darüber hinaus ist keine Lehrperson und kein*e Studierende*r gezwungen, mit Zoom zu arbeiten. Hinweise zu freiwilligen Nutzung von Zoom finden Sie ganz unten auf dieser Seite.

    Selbstverständlich hat auch der Datenschutzbeauftragte der Leuphana ZOOM umfassend geprüft.

    •  Die Datenschutzhinweise zur Nutzung von Zoom an der Leuphana finden Sie hier.
    •  Ein Gutachten des Datenschutzbeauftragten der Leuphana zur Datenschutzkonformität von Zoom finden Sie  hier.
    •  Empfehlungen des Teams des Datenschutzmanagements für die datenschutzrelevanten Einstellungen in Zoom finden Sie hier.

    Auch andere Universitäten haben sich für den Einsatz von ZOOM in der Hochschullehre entschieden. Ein Beispiel ist die RWTH Aachen, die auf ihrer Website ebenfalls wichtige Hinweise sowie Links zu weiterführenden Informationen und Beiträgen rund um das Thema Zoom und Datensicherheit veröffentlicht. Zur Website "Zoom - Sicherheit und Datenschutz" der RWTH Aachen geht es hier.


    Im Einzelnen haben wir die folgenden Konfigurationen vorgenommen:

    Teilnahme an Meetings
    • Alle Meetings beginnen mit abgeschaltetem Teilnehmervideo. Das Videobild muss von den TeilnehmerInnen aktiv eingeschaltet werden.
    • Teilnehmer werden bei Betreten des Meetings stumm geschaltet.
    • Anzeige von E-Mail-Adressen per Wasserzeichen ist unterbunden.
    • Für alle Meetings wird standardmäßig ein Passwort gesetzt, auch für die Teilnahme per Telefon.
    • Feedbacks an ZOOM am Ende eines Meetings sind deaktiviert.
    • Die Fernsteuerung über die Bildschirmfreigabe ist deaktiviert.
    • Remoteunterstützung ist deaktiviert.
    • Kamera-Fernsteuerung ist deaktiviert.
    • Aufmerksamkeitstracking ist deaktiviert.
    • Benachrichtigung des Hosts bei Zutritt von Teilnehmer*innen vor dem Host sind deaktiviert.
    • Automatische Benachrichtigung von Teilnehmer*innen bei Absage eines Meetings ist deaktiviert.
    Technische Einstellungen
    • Verschlüsselung aller Daten zwischen der Zoom-Cloud, dem Zoom-Client und dem Zoom Room. 
    • Wenn sich nur zwei Personen in einem Meeting befinden, wird eine Peer-to-Peer-Verbindung aufgebaut.
    • Versand von E-Mails über die ZOOM-Webseite ist deaktiviert.
    • Schnappschuss in der iOS-Aufgabenumschaltfunktion wird weichgezeichnet, um eventuelle vertrauliche Informationen von der Momentaufnahme des Zoom Hauptfensters auszublenden. Diese Momentaufnahme wird als Vorschaubildschirm in der iOS Aufgabenumschaltfunktion angezeigt, wenn mehrere Apps offen sind.
    • Bei der Bildschirmfreigabe muss standardmäßig immer eine bestimmte Applikation freigegeben werden, die Freigabe des gesamten Desktops ist deaktiviert. In den persönlichen Einstellungen kann diese Voreinstellung übersteuert werden.
    Datenaustausch mit anderen Diensten
    • Datenaustausch mit Office 365 ist deaktiviert.
    • CDN-Nutzung ist deaktiviert.
    Speicherung von Meeting-Inhalten
    • Eine Speicherung der Chat-Kommunikation ist für Host und Teilnehmer*innen unterbunden.
    • Die automatische Speicherung von Whiteboard-Inhalten ist unterbunden.
    • Aufzeichnung von Meetings in der ZOOM-Cloud ist deaktiviert.
    • Lokale Aufzeichnung von Meetings ist deaktiviert, kann aber vom Host übersteuert werden.
    • Automatische Aufzeichnung bei Meeting-Beginn ist generell deaktiviert.
    • Teilnehmer*innen müssen ihr Einverständnis zur Aufzeichnung eines Meetings geben.
    • Audio-Benachrichtigungen bei Start- oder Neustart der Meetings-Aufzeichnung.
    Vorgaben für Lehrende zur Aufzeichnung von Videokonferenzen

    Um sicherzustellen, dass weder Bild noch Ton der Teilnehmer*innen Ihrer Videokonferenz aufgezeichnet werden, gehen Sie wie folgt vor. Bitte beachten Sie grundsätzlich die Wahrung des Persönlichkeitsrechts (Recht am eigenen Bild und Ton; s. Hinweis ganz oben auf dieser Seite):

    Aufzeichnung einer regulären Videokonferenz

    • Wählen Sie die Sprecheransicht.
    • Heften Sie das eigene Videobild an.
    • Schalten Sie alle Teilnehmer*innen stumm.
    • Aktivieren Sie erst dann die Aufzeichnung.

    Aufzeichnung einer Videokonferenz bei geteiltem Bildschirm

    • Schalten Sie alle Teilnehmer*innen stumm.
    • Teilen Sie den gewünschten Bildschirminhalt.
    • Schalten die Ansicht der Miniaturen auf "Aktives Sprechervideo anzeigen" oder "Miniatur-Video ausblenden".
    • Aktivieren Sie erst dann die Aufzeichnung.

    Weitere Empfehlungen zur datensensiblen Nutzung von Zoom

    Die Leitung des Medien- und Informationszentrums (MIZ) hat in einer Mail an alle Hochschulmitglieder umfassend über Zoom informiert und weitere Empfehlungen und Hinweise ausgesprochen, um die ungewollte Nutzung von Tracking-Diensten (Google Analytics u.a.) auf den Zoom-Webseiten zu vermeiden:

    • Bitte laden Sie die Zoom-Software nicht über die Zoom-Webseiten, sondern immer über das Intranet der Leuphana herunter (VPN erforderlich).
    • Bitte nutzen Sie ausschließlich die Zoom-Desktop-Anwendung und nicht die Zoom-Webseite, um Meetings zu starten oder ihnen beizutreten.
    • Bitte laden Sie zu Zoom-Meetings nicht über den von Zoom erzeugten Einladungs-Link ein, sondern teilen Sie Teilnehmer*innen stattdessen ausschließlich die Meeting-ID und das Meeting-Passwort mit. In der Desktop-Anwendung können Sie ID und Passwort eingeben, um ein Meeting zu starten oder einem Meeting beizutreten.
    • Bitte nutzen Sie unbedingt auch die Möglichkeit, Zoom-Meetings direkt in myStudy oder Moodle anzulegen.

    Die vollständigen Informationen des Medien- und Informationszentrums (MIZ) dazu finden Sie hier.

    Hinweise zur freiwilligen Nutzung von Zoom

    Niemand ist gezwungen, mit Zoom zu arbeiten. Den Lehrenden steht es frei, ihre Lehre z.B. auch als "moderiertes Selbststudium" zu gestalten, das im Wesentlichen aus der Bereitstellung von Literatur + Aufgaben via Mail oder myStudy besteht. Die Kommunikation mit den Studierenden kann dabei ebenfalls per Mail und z.B. telefonischen Sprechstunden erfolgen. Auch den Studierenden ist es freigestellt, die ggfs. von den Lehrenden bereitgestellten Angebote über Zoom zu nutzen. Wer dies nicht möchte, hat entweder die Möglichkeit, sich die Inhalte auf anderem Wege im Selbststudium anzueignen (auch in der virtuellen Welt besteht keine Anwesenheitspflicht), oder kann sich für ein Teilzeit- bzw. Urlaubssemester entscheiden. Die Hochschulleitung hat die Voraussetzungen dafür angesichts der gegenwärtigen Situation sehr weit gefasst, so dass die Studierenden problemlos von diesen Optionen Gebrauch machen können.

    Leider haben die umfangreichen Recherchen und Vergleiche des MIZ ergeben, dass auf dem deutschen Markt kein Videokonferenz-Anbieter zu finden ist, der wie Zoom und GoToMeeting (die zweite Software-Alternative, für die die Leuphana Lizenzen erworben hat) die notwendige Leistungsfähigkeit und Stabilität in der Performanz für den großflächigen Einsatz in der Hochschullehre bietet und zugleich über noch bessere Datenschutz-Modalitäten verfügen würde. Vor diesem Hintergrund bleibt es die Entscheidung des Einzelnen, auf die Lösungen von Zoom und GoToMeeting zurückzugreifen oder darauf zu verzichten.

    Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung

    Die Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung bietet eine vollständige Verschlüsselung der Meetings-Inhalte zwischen den End-Nutzer*innen, so dass keine Dritten (auch nicht Zoom selbst) Einblick in die Meetings nehmen können. Beim Anlegen eines Meetings im Zoom-Client ist hierzu die Option „Durchgehende Verschlüsselung" zu wählen, ein Beispiel dazu sehen sie hier im Screenshot.

    Bitte beachten Sie, dass bei der Nutzung der Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung einige Funktionen nicht zur Verfügung stehen:

    • keine telefonische Einwahl und Einwahl per SIP
    • die "Teilnahme vor dem Host erlauben" ist nicht möglich
    • keine Breakout-Rooms
    • keine privaten Chats im Meeting
    • keine Abstimmungen oder Reaktionen (Applaus etc.)

    Wenn Sie Ihre Zoom-Sitzungen über myStudy anlegen, dann können Sie direkt beim Anlegen des Meetings die Art der Verschlüsselung wählen, ein Beispiel dazu sehen sie hier im Screenshot. Das Moodle-Plugin bietet diese Möglichkeit derzeit nicht.

    Weitere Informationen zur Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung erhalten Sie auch auf der offiziellen Zoom-Website.

    Kontakt & Support

    Haben Sie Fragen zur Einrichtung und didaktischen Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Zoom?
    Dann wenden Sie sich gern an das Support Team Digitale Lehre unter: digi-support@leuphana.de

    Studierende können sich gerne an stud.digi-support@leuphana.de wenden.
    Weitere  Informationen bietet die Seite des studentischen Supports für Digitale Lehre (Support von Studierenden für Studierende).