Master's degree

The decision to pursue a Master's degree at Leuphana University of Lüneburg is a decision to delve deep into academic research on pressing questions within your field and across disciplinary boundaries. The unique structure of the degree courses at our university makes our Master's programmes special. In addition to a strong academic foundation in a student's major, specialized knowledge is complemented by interdisciplinary and practical content that encourages critical reflection on the field and thus helps our students to do more than just collect specialized knowledge, instead enabling them to come into their own as scholars. Another special feature of Leuphana's Master's programmes is the thematic orientation of the majors. We expect that our Graduate School students will be ready to assume positions of responsibility in key roles in academia, business, culture, politics and society at large.

Structure of the degree programmes

Inter-, intra- and trans-disciplinary Contexts

The courses covering specialized content in all majors are framed by two pillars that are oriented towards overarching topics or are taught in an intra-, inter- or trans-disciplinary context. These courses encourage critical reflection and are practically oriented, and with 30 CP they make up a fourth of the total Master's course.

Perspectives on Research and Integrated Studies form the first pillar. These modules serve to bring the students from the wider Master's programmes or the major together so that they can examine more closely the fundamental theories, discourse and methods in their fields as well as issues that cross disciplinary boundaries. Depending on the individual Master's programme, the design of the section on perspectives on research and integrated studies will vary and can, for example, take on a more research-focused approach or cover more applied topics from practice. As a part of the Master's programme in Management & Entrepreneurship, the Management Studies module will develop students' competencies in management. 

In line with the research orientation of all majors, the students have the chance to gain their own research experience in collaboration with the faculty and their fellow students. The course contents will be developed and based on the faculty's own research projects. The project-oriented format of the courses, which are variously designated as a Project Sequence, Guided Research Project or Trans-Disciplinary Research Project, mean that these courses last for a period of one, two or three semesters and are part of the student's major or represent part of the section on Perspectives on Research and Integrated Studies. In these modules, various methods of teaching and learning will be integrated into the research process, i.e. examining issues related to the field of study and interdisciplinary subjects, investigating empirical or theoretical topics or focusing on practically-oriented questions with an emphasis on participation in individual phases or the entire course of the research process.

Complementary Studies programme forms the second pillar. To complement the knowledge gained in the major, these modules offer students the chance to obtain a fundamental critical viewpoint on their field through interdisciplinary exchange. The Complementary Studies courses bring together students from all majors, allowing them to place knowledge and research in context, encouraging inter- and trans-disciplinary collaboration and providing students with the opportunity to confront fundamental research and social questions relating to ethics and complex contemporary issues.

To top

Complementary Studies programme at the Graduate School

In addition to advanced studies in their fields, the students of the Graduate School engage in critical reflection on a wide range of interdisciplinary issues. By adopting an inter- and trans-disciplinary approach to organizing our Complementary Studies program, the Master's program at Leuphana seeks to foster dialogue and critical thinking while teaching the skills that students need to step back and see things from a holistic and critical viewpoint. To do this, it is important to engage with unfamiliar academic traditions and forms of knowledge, intellectual history, diverse understandings of research results and fundamental humanistic questions in philosophy and ethics. This kind of outside perspective provides a wider context for students' knowledge about their own fields and helps them understand findings from a wide range of other disciplines and establish connections between disparate fields and forms of knowledge that allow them to go beyond the familiar and see their fields in a new light. In this way, our program of Complementary Studies takes disparate, contingent experiences combined with a relationship-oriented, socially responsible way of thinking and acting and turns them into an integral part of an interdisciplinary process of knowledge acquisition that qualifies our student for an academic career in a range of fields in the business world.

Why Complementary Studies?
After completing their studies, academics can look forward to exciting and challenging responsibilities in demanding positions. Students who have completed their Master's degree will not typically be dealing with routine situations. Instead, they will be faced with uncertainty, competing interpretations, conflicting standards as well as different professional wisdom and forms of knowledge. Those who work in positions of responsibility and in changing teams undergoing complex processes of transformation, or those who must evaluate new or unfamiliar information outside of their field need a holistic, academically based ability to judge and reflect critically. This is more valuable than technical knowledge that quickly becomes obsolete. Closely related to this is the ability to collaborate and analyze complex interactions that occur between parties in dialogue with the help of a methodological approach that evaluates according to ethical criteria while at the same time combining disparate and conflicting perspectives that allow one to be able to reach an authoritative decision and act confidently.

To top

Modules in the Complementary Studies programme

The central content and goals of our Complementary Studies programme are reflected in the three modules Engaging with Knowledge and Sciences, Reflecting Research Methods and Connecting Science, Responsibility and Society. In line with Leuphana's international profile, the principal language of instruction is English.
With three modules of 5 CP each – for a total of 15 CP – complementary studies make up 12.5% of the Master's programme.

Masterstudium

Die Entscheidung für ein Masterstudium an der Leuphana ist eine Entscheidung für eine tiefgreifende wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit fachlichen und fachübergreifenden Fragen. Mit dieser Kombination aus Fachwissen und überfachlichen Kompetenzen sollen die Studierenden der Graduate School befähigt werden, in verantwortungsvollen Schlüsselpositionen in Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Kultur, Politik und Gesellschaft tätig zu  werden.


Studienmodell

Das Besondere der Masterstudiengänge an dieser Universität besteht in dem spezifischen Studienmodell, das die fachwissenschaftlichen Inhalte der Major durch fachübergreifende, handlungsorientierte und reflexive Inhalte komplementär ergänzt und somit neben dem Erwerb von Fachwissen auch die akademische Persönlichkeitsbildung aller Studierenden unterstützt.

Inter-, intra- und transdiziplinärer Kontext

Die fachspezifischen Angebote aller Major werden von zwei Säulen  gerahmt, die übergreifend orientiert sind bzw. in intra-, inter- oder transdisziplinären Kontexten stattfinden. Mit 30 CP umfassen diese reflexiv und handlungsorientiert angelegten Inhalte insgesamt ein Viertel des Masterstudiums.

Die erste Säule bilden die Forschungsperspektiven und der Integrationsbereich. Diese Module dienen dazu, Studierende innerhalb der übergeordneten Masterprogramme oder Major zusammenzubringen, um jeweils gemeinsam grundlegende disziplinäre oder auch fach- und majorübergreifende Theorien, Diskurse oder Methoden zu vertiefen. Je nach Masterprogramm fällt die Ausgestaltung der Forschungsperspektiven und des Integrationsbereichs unterschiedlich aus und kann z.B. eher forschungsrelevante Aspekte oder mehr praxisbezogene Diskurse beinhalten.
In den Management Studies im Masterprogramm Management&Entrepreneurship werden Fachkompetenzen im Bereich des Managementwissens vertieft.

Im Sinne der Forschungsorientierung aller Major sammeln die Studierenden eigene forschende Erfahrungen  in Zusammenarbeit mit den Lehrenden und ihren Kommilitoninnen und Kommilitonen. Die Lehrinhalte werden dabei auch aus eigener Forschung der Lehrenden entwickelt und gestützt. Die projektorientierten Veranstaltungsformate, die als Projektband, Lehrforschungsprojekt oder transdisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt benannt sind, umfassen ein, zwei oder drei Semester und bilden einen Bereich im Major oder sind Bestandteil des übergreifenden Bereichs Forschungsperspektiven und Integrationsbereich. In diesen Modulen wird forschendes Lehren und Lernen auf verschiedene Weise gestaltet, d.h. fachspezifisch oder fachübergreifend, empirisch, theoretisch oder an praxisrelevanten Fragestellungen orientiert sowie im Hinblick auf die Mitwirkung an einzelnen Phasen oder an einem gesamten Forschungsprozess.

Die zweite Säule bildet das Komplementärstudium. Komplementär zu dem fachlichen Wissenserwerb in den Major bieten diese Module ein Forum für den Erwerb eines grundlegenden wissenschaftsreflexiven Wissens im fachübergreifenden Austausch. Die Veranstaltungen des Komplementärstudiums bringen die Studierenden aller Major zusammen, um Wissen und Wissenschaft im Kontext zu verstehen, die inter- und transdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zu fördern sowie um sich mit wissenschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Grundfragen der Ethik und komplexen Gegenwartsfragen auseinanderzusetzen.


Nach oben

Komplementärstudium der Graduate School

Die Studierenden der Graduate School beschäftigen sich so neben dem fachlich vertiefenden Studium mit fächerübergreifenden wissenschaftsreflexiven Themen. Das Masterstudium an der Leuphana möchte durch das inter- und transdisziplinär organisierte Komplementärstudium dialogorientiert kritisches Denken fördern und die Fähigkeit schulen, einen Schritt zurückzutreten und eine übergreifende reflexive Perspektive einzunehmen. Dazu ist es wichtig, sich mit fremden Wissenschaftskulturen und Wissensformen, mit der Entstehung von Wissen, verschiedenen Verständnissen wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnis und grundlegenden humanistischen Fragen, mit Philosophie und Ethik zu befassen. Eine solche reflexive Distanznahme weitet den Kontext um die Fachinhalte und hilft, fachfremdes Wissen in seiner Unterschiedlichkeit zu verstehen, Verbindungen zwischen verschiedenen Wissensbereichen und -formen herzustellen, die vertraute Wissenschaftskultur im Spiegel einer fremden neu zu sehen. In diesem Sinne macht das Komplementärstudium Differenz- und Kontingenzerfahrung und ein verbindungsorientiertes, gesellschaftlich verantwortungsvolles Denken und Handeln zu einem integralen Bestandteil des fachübergreifenden Wissenserwerbs und qualifiziert die Studierenden in besonderem Maße für akademische Karrierewege in verschiedenen Berufswelten.

Warum Komplementärstudium?
Auf Akademikerinnen und Akademiker warten nach ihrem Abschluss spannende und herausfordernde Aufgaben in anspruchsvollen Positionen. Absolventinnen und Absolventen von Masterstudiengängen haben es in ihren beruflichen Kontexten typischerweise nicht mit Routinesituationen zu tun, sondern mit Situationen der Ungewissheit, mit konkurrierenden Deutungen und Normenkonflikten sowie unterschiedlichen professionellen Wissensvorräten und -formen. Wer in verantwortungsvollen Positionen und in wechselnden Teams  unter den Bedingungen komplexer Transformationsprozesse arbeitet oder auf Grundlage neuer bzw. sich ändernder, ggf. fachfremder Informationen Situationen beurteilen muss, braucht neben schnell veraltendem Fachwissen auch eine übergreifende wissenschaftlich basierte Urteils  und Reflexionsfähigkeit, die eine beständigere Grundlage bildet. Damit eng verknüpft ist ein Vermögen zur Kollaboration, um im dialogischen Austausch komplexe Sachverhalte methodisch geleitet analysieren, nach ethischen Kriterien bewerten und dabei auch unterschiedliche, widerstreitende Perspektiven verbinden und darauf basierend sicher entscheiden und handeln zu können.


Nach oben

Module des Komplementärstudiums

Die zentralen Inhalte und Ziele des Komplementärstudiums werden in den drei Modulen Engaging with Knowledge and Sciences, Reflecting Research Methods und Connecting Science, Responsibility and Society abgebildet. Im Sinne der internationalen Orientierung der Leuphana ist die Unterrichtssprache überwiegend Englisch.
Das Komplementärstudium macht mit drei Modulen à 5 CP – also 15 CP –  12,5% des Masterstudiums aus.

ZUR MODULÜBERSICHT