Leuphana once again recognized as a role model for sustainability education

2024-07-05 The Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the German UNESCO Commission have awarded a Leuphana project the "National Award - Education for Sustainable Development". Leuphana has been the most successful university in Germany to receive this award for almost 20 years.

BNE award ©Deutsche UNESCO-Kommission/Kilian Vitt Fotografie
Walter Hirche, German UNESCO Commission, Dominik Schlüter, member of the award-winning Leuphana project team and Dr. Andrea Ruyter-Petznek, Federal Ministry of Education and Research (from left to right) at the presentation of the National Award - Education for Sustainable Development

Lüneburg. The project "Speed Limit, Heat Pump, Electric Car - Modeling Sustainability Mathematically" from the Institute of Mathematics and its Didactics at Leuphana University Lüneburg was honored last week in Aschaffenburg with the "National Award - Education for Sustainable Development (ESD)". The award was presented by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the German UNESCO Commission to a total of 21 initiatives.

The scientists involved have developed, tested and evaluated a seminar concept that uses the current example of thecarbon footprint to create a learning and discussion space for students. The aim is to raise their awareness of the importance of mathematical modeling in connection with sustainability issues.

"We consider knowledge of the fundamentals, development and evaluation of mathematical models to be key skills in a democratic civil society," explains project manager Professor Michael Besser. With their project, the participants are also exploring the question of how such an educational goal can be pursued at various educational levels in schools and universities.

The award-winning initiatives reach people with innovative educational offers, content and ideas and enable learners to actively and responsibly participate in shaping a sustainable future. The Lüneburg project impressed the jury with its exemplary commitment to ESD and special dedication to the United Nations' Global Sustainability Goals.

The project team includes: Michael Besser (Leuphana University of Lüneburg), Robin Göller (University of Klagenfurt), Maike Hagena (Leibniz University of Hanover), Kathrin Padberg-Gehle (Leuphana University of Lüneburg), Dominik Schlüter (Leuphana University of Lüneburg). The project is funded by the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony.

The "National Award - Education for Sustainable Development" recognizes organizations, networks and municipalities that are committed to shaping a livable, sustainable society as part of the UNESCO ESD 2030 programme. Education is central to sustainable development. It enables people to make decisions for the future and to assess how their own actions will affect future generations or life in other regions of the world.

Further information
About the project
About the award