Member of editorial boards:

  • Political Leadersthip book series, Palgrave, seit 2017
  • Comparative Politics book series, Oxford University Press/ECPR, 2011-2019
  • Zeitschrift für Politikberatung (VS Verlag für Sozialwissenschaften), since 2008
  • Zeitschrift für Vergleichende Politikwissenschaft (VS Verlag für Sozialwissenschaften), since 2007
  • Party Politics (SAGE Publications), since 1995
  • European Journal of Political Research (Blackwell Publisher), 2003-2012

 Member of University Executive Committee

  • 2006-2012: Vice-President of the Leuphana University of Lüneburg (responsible for Graduate School and Internationalization)
  • 1996-2000: Vice-president of the University of Lüneburg (responsible for Research/Technology

Member of National and International Organizations

  • 2018-2020: Executive Member of the International Political Science Association (IPSA)
  • 2016-2018: President of the German Political Science Association (DVPW)
  • 2015-2018: Member of the Committee of Experts in the field of economics, law and social sciences, ACQUIN, Accreditation, Certification and Quality Assurance Institute
  • 2014-2018: Co-chair of the Research Committee of Political Sociology of the Inernational Political Science Association (IPSA-RC06)
  • 2012-2016: Member of the Review Board Political Science "German National Science Foundation" (DFG)
  • 2010-2018: Member of the DAAD advisory board for guest professors at northern American universities
  • 2006-2012: Contact person for the German Research Foundation (DFG) at Leuphana University Lüneburg
  • 1998-2002: Member of the Executive Committee: "Friends of the DAAD"
  • 1997-2000: Contact person for the Fulbright Commission, Bonn/Berlin
  • 1994-2000: Chair of the Stein Rokkan Prize Committee of the UNESCO, Paris
  • 1997-2000: Vice-president and member of the Executive Committee, European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR), Colchester 
  • 1994-1997: Member of the Executive Committee, European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR), Colchester
  • 1994-1998: Contact person for the  German Research Foundation (DFG) at the University of Lüneburg
  • 1988-1994:Member of the Advisory Council of the German Political Science Association (DVPW), Darmstadt