ECPR Summer Schools 2005-2007

From 2005 to 2007 the CSD hosted the annual PhD summer schools of the ECPR Standing Group on Central and East European Politics, receiving substantial financial support from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). Each year, the program under the direction of Prof. Ferdinand Müller-Rommel provided a group of 20-25 junior researchers with the opportunity to deepen their knowledge on the school’s central theme, “Governance and Democracy in Central Eastern Europe”. Courses were taught by a team of internationally renowned scholars.

Classes consisted of presentations by staff members, seminar discussions, and student presentations. Thematically, the summer schools focused on the performance of governance and democracy in Central Eastern Europe during and after the phase of transition and consolidation. Building upon findings from scholars such as Powell, Lijphart, Keman, and Schmidt on democratic politics in Western Europe, the summer schools analyzed whether or not these findings and concepts can be applied to Central Eastern European countries.

In addition to the classes taught in Lüneburg, a one-day excursion to Hamburg and a two-day trip to Berlin were part of the program. Participants visited the German Bundestag, meeting Members of Parliament specialized on EU politics and on the relations between Germany and Central and Eastern Europe.

The teaching staff of the summer schools included Prof. Frank Aarebrot, Prof. Attila Ágh, Prof. Klaus Armingeon, Prof. Sten Berglund, Prof. Jean Blondel, Prof. Zsolt Enyedi, Prof. Detlef Jahn, Prof. Hans-Dieter Klingemann, Prof. Paul Lewis, Prof. Darina Malova, Dr. Zdenka Mansfeldova, Prof. Radoslaw Markowski, Prof. Wolfgang Merkel, Prof. Ferdinand Müller-Rommel, Prof. Vello Pettai, and Prof. Eric Uslander.


Further Information:

Overview of the academic program 2005

Overview of the academic program 2006

Overview of the academic program 2007