Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is appointed by the residential board of the Leuphana University of Lueneburg and provides counsel, expertise, and strategic thinking to the Board of Directors. The Board also participates in efforts to raise the Institute´s visibility and networking efforts. It meets annually and is chaired by the president of Leuphana University. It is comprised of eight members with at least three representatives from countries of the Global South.

Current Members

Rebecca Harms
Former MP European Parliament

Prof.em. Helga Kromp-Kolb
Former Head of the Centre for Global Change and Sustainability
University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (BOKU), Austria

Prof.Dr. Heila Lotz-Sisitka
Distinguished Research Professor
Rhodes University, South Africa

Prof.Dr. Thomas Potthast
Professor for Ethics, Theory, and History of the Life Sciences
University of Tübingen, Germany

Prof.em.Tan Sri Dato Dzulkifli Abdul Razak
Rector, International Islamic University Malaysia
International Islamic University Malaysia

Prof.Dr. Imme Scholz
Deputy Director of the German Development Institute (DIE), Germany

Prof. (HSG) Dr. Sascha Spoun
President, Leuphana University of Lueneburg

Prof. Mirian Vilela
Executive Director of Earth Charter International
Earth Charter Center for Education for Sustainable Development, Costa Rica