• 2021 Election as member of the Aarhus Convention Compliance Committee (ACCC)
  • 2014 - 2021 Judge, Higher Administration Court of Lower Saxony, Lueneburg (7th Senate, dealing with environmental and energy law)
  • 2011 University Professor for Public Law, in particular Energy and Environmental Law
  • 2007 – 2009 lecturer at the Southampton Solent University (UK)
  • 2005 honorary doctor´s degree by the Georgian Technical University, Tblisi
  • since 2004 professor at the University of Lueneburg, public law, in particular public administrative law
  • 1996 – 2004 professor at the former University of Applied Sciences, Lueneburg, with the denomination of public law, in particular public administrative law
  • 1988 - 1996: governmental official in the City of Hamburg (Regierungsrat, Oberregierungsrat), i. e. in the areas of the law of construction and environmental law
  • 1985 - 1988: legal traineeship (Referendariat), High Court (Oberlandesgericht) Celle, Second State Exam
  • 1982 - 1986: dissertation "Deficits in the Law of Nature Conservation" ("Defizite im Naturschutzrecht"), University of Göttingen
  • 1976 - 1981: law studies at the universities of Hamburg and Göttingen, First State Exam