Governance and Sustainability

We are a multidisciplinary team with backgrounds from political science, geography, sociology, systems science, or environmental sciences. Our research centers around the big challenges of governance in the context of environmental and sustainability politics. Politics and policy on multiple levels, from the very local to the global, working across scales, and involving a variety of stakeholders and process forms, from top-down policy implementation to processes of social learning in collaborative networks form the center of investigation. We ask whether and how participation and collaboration foster environmental sustainability? How can sustainability transitions be governed? How to meet the challenges of governing global social-ecological teleconnected systems? We use in-depth case studies as well as large-N case survey meta-analysis to improve the evidence-base of sustainability governance. Much of our research is inter- and transdisciplinary in nature, involving stakeholders from outside academia.

Find more information about our research group and our opionions on current topics on our blog.

The Professorship of Governance and Sustainability is an associated member of the Center for the Study of Democracy (ZDEMO).



  • Prof. Dr. Jens Newig

Team Assistance

  • Bibiana Heidorn

Scientific Staff

  • Shahana Bilalova
  • Johanna Coenen
  • Dr. Michael Rose
  • Dipl.-Phys. Meinfried Striegnitz
  • Xinran Wang

External Team Members

Benedetta Cotta, PhD
Lea Gathen
Lisa Glass
Judith Gollata
Okka Lou Mathis
Janosch Pfeffer

For more information on external and former team members please visit our people pages at our blog.