• Head, Institute for Sustainability Governance (INSUGO), Leuphana University (11/2019 -)
  • Professor (W3) at Leuphana University Lüneburg (2014 - )
  • ERC Starting Grant holder (2011 - 2016)
  • Professor (W2) at Leuphana University Lüneburg (2010 - 2014)
  • Assistant professor at the Institute of Environmental Systems Research, Osnabrück University (12/2001 until 05/2010)
  • Habilitation on Environmental Governance in the Light of Participation and Effectiveness: Case Studies and Models, University of Osnabrück
  • Temporary professorship at Leuphana University Lüneburg (10/2008 until 09/2009)
  • Doctoral degree (Dr. iur.) on Environmental Law from Dresden Technical University with a scholarship of the Volkswagen Foundation (summa cum laude) (1999-2002)
  • Strategic Management Consultancy, Gemini Consulting, Bad Homburg (1998)
  • Diploma in geo-ecology (environmental sciences) at Bayreuth University (1998)
  • Maîtrise and Ingénieur-Maître in Gestion et Génie de l’Environnement at Université Paris 7 (scholar of the German Academic Exchange Service) (1996)
  • Scholar of the German National Academic Foundation (1992-1998)

For details on publications, please visit

Visit our research group's blog at