The Senate: Responsibility and Pluralism

The Senate is the university's elected body for academic self-administration. The university's four status groups are represented here: professors, academic staff, non-academic staff, and students. Presidency shall be held by the President.

Pursuant to § 41 NHG, the Senate decides upon the regulations pertaining to application and admission, general assessment principles, cross-faculty study programmes, university development planning, and the basic statute among other things.

The current Senate was elected in the winter semester of 2021/22 and took office in April 2022.

Due to a shift in the election date to the summer semester from the year 2024 onwards as provided for in the election regulations, the term of office of this Senate is 2.5 years. Students serving in the Senate from April 2022 will be in office for 1.5 years. Following this transition, the Senate will have a two-year term of office and its student members will serve one year each.

More Information

Visit the Senate intranet site for the current schedule, member contact information, and meeting minutes and materials.