Minor Museum Studies

Minor at Leuphana College

What are we collecting when we collect? What do we not exhibit? How do museological practices come to shape the understanding of the world we live in? The minor in Museum Studies at Leuphana answers such questions from multiple perspectives. It interweaves critical museology, transcultural art history, memory studies, provenance research, and concepts of cultural organization. It offers theoretical foundations for our contemporary and historical engagement with humanity’s tangible and intangible heritage. The program also provides insights into the practical aspects of this professional field through the involvement of museum and cultural heritage experts

The program addresses current challenges such as decolonization, restitution, memory, representation, participation, and accessibility, particularly evident in the museum sector. It is designed for students who are interested in museums as sites and agents of knowledge production, negotiation, and transformation and who want to learn about the role of culture in contemporary societies.

Whether it be museums, cultural organizations, exhibition spaces, galleries, private collections, memorial sites, or archival institutions – the cultural sector presents numerous career opportunities.

Unsettled Obejects, 1968/1969 ©Lothar Baumgarten
Lothar Baumgarten, Unsettled Objects, 1968/69, Slide projection, 81 35 mm slides, color, variable dimensions, Edition 3/5, Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2024, Photo: Axel Schneider

Studying Museum Studies

The BA minor in Museum Studies is the first of its kind in Germany to be taught entirely in English. Embedded in an international network, the minor is organized by professors with extensive experience in and with cultural institutions, including MARKK in Hamburg, Städel in Frankfurt, Brücke Museum in Berlin, and The Museum of Modern Art in New York. Among the instructors are professors Timon Beyes, Sven Kramer, Susanne Leeb, Lynn Rother, Beate Söntgen, and the incoming assistant professor for Transcultural Art History. Some seminars are organized at and with partners from the cultural heritage and exhibition sector, primarily in Berlin and Hamburg. 

The program focuses not only on art museums but also other kinds of museums and heritage sites. It takes a critical and interdisciplinary approach, which it shares with the Leuphana Cultural Studies program as a whole. The artistic project space, the Kunstraum, is an important and distinctive component of Leuphana University. It hosts numerous events and seminars within the Cultural Studies major and the Complementary Studies program, providing students the opportunity to collaborate with artists and curators. 

The English language minor in Museum Studies complements the new English language Culture, Organization and the Arts major, as well as the German language major in Cultural Studies (this major allows students to specialize in the following fields: Cultural and Social Theory; Art and Visual Culture; Cultural Organization and Society; Literary Cultures; Media Studies; Music and Auditive Cultures or the History of Knowledge elective), Studium Individuale, or a major in Economics, Business Administration,or Law

Course Content

In the minor, you first acquire the basis for understanding the multi-faceted relationship between different types of museums — e.g., ethnological, historical, natural history, fine arts — and the particular items they collect and exhibit. As places where cultural values are expressed, experienced, and negotiated, museums are pivotal for understanding cultural organization, a topic you will study in the third semester. Exhibitions play a central role in communicating culture and knowledge to various audiences and are, therefore, the subject of another more practice-oriented module. Theories, histories, and concepts related to the transcultural, to heritage and memory or to provenance and restitution complete the program to understand current challenges and discourses on museums, culture, and society.

Course Structure

The minor in Museum Studies is embedded in Leuphana’s interdisciplinary College study model made up of the  Leuphana Semester, a Major, and Complementary Studies. You start your Bachelor studies with the Leuphana Semester where you learn about the fundamentals of knowledge production and university life. The minor supplements your BA major. In Complementary Studies, you can pursue your thirst for knowledge through individualized study by immersing yourself in a different field of knowledge each semester.

Core Modules

Leuphana Semester

  • Responsibility and Sustainability
  • Humanities
  • Methods I
  • Methods II: Disciplinary Methods
  • Introduction to the Discipline (the content of your major)

2. Semester

  • Introducing Artifacts, Objects and Museums
  • 4 major modules
  • 1 Complementary Studies module

3. Semester

  • The Museum as Organization and Institution
  • 4 major modules
  • 1 Complementary Studies module

4. Semester

  • Concepts and Practices of Exhibiting
  • Theories and Practices of Memory and Heritage
  • 3 major modules
  • 1 Complementary Studies module

5. Semester

  • Transcultural Histories and Theories of Museums
  • Concepts and Practices of Collecting, Provenance and Restitution
  • 3 major modules
  • 1 Complementary Studies module

6. Semester

  • Bachelor dissertation
  • 1 major module
  • 2 Complementary Studies modules

Possible major Combinations

Business Information Systems (GER)
Cultural Studies (EN)
Cultural Studies (GER)
Digital Media (ENG)
Economics (ENG)
Engineering (GER)
Environmental Sciences (GER)
Global Environmental and Sustainability Studies (ENG)
International Business Administration & Entrepreneurship (ENG)
Law (GER)
Political Science (GER)
Studium Individuale (ENG)

Profession and Career

The Bachelor’s degree represents a first professional qualification. Graduates can work in the following areas, for example: 

  • Curatorial, educational, communication, and similar departments in museums, memorial sites, or other cultural heritage and pedagogical institutions;
  • Foundations and NGOs with funding priorities and programs in the field of art and culture;
  • Media, press and publishers with a focus on cultural and humanities topics;
  • Art associations, auction houses, art galleries;
  • Cultural tourism offices or companies.

A completed Bachelor’s degree is also a prerequisite for admission to a Master’s degree. Graduates with a BA Museum Studies minor will be eligible for MA programs in Museum Studies and Cultural Studies as well as in areas including Art History, History, Memory Studies, Literature or Provenance Studies - depending on your Major. Graduates may well be interested in the Leuphana Cultural Studies MA programs in Cultural Studies: Culture and Organization (in English) or in Critical Studies: Arts, Theory, History (in German).

At a Glance

Final degree: the minor in Museum Studies can only be studied in combination with a major
Admission restriction: no
Study places: 35
Teaching and examination language: English

Events for prospective students

College Open Day

The next Online Open Day at Leuphana College is 31 May 2024. Find out more

Information material

Learn more about the interdisciplinary college study model. Order information material

Student counselling service

Clarify your questions in a personal conversation during the Open Advisory Service. You can take advantage of digital counselling at short notice without registering. The College study advisors will be happy to help you:

  • Wednesdays from 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. (in person on campus)
  • Thursdays from 4-6 p.m. (digitally via Zoom)

Find out more

Counselling

Initial Information

Information Office (Infoportal)
Buil­ding 8, ground floor
Universitätsallee 1, 21335 Lüneburg
Phone +49.4131.677-2277
Fax +49.4131.677-1430
studierendenservice@leuphana.de
Opening hours
Term time & term break:
Mon - Thu 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Fr 9 - 12 a.m.

Arrange an appointment

College's Student Counselling Service
Buil­ding 8, ground floor
Uni­ver­sitätsal­lee 1, 21335 Lüne­burg
Open Con­sul­ta­ti­on Hours
Wed  11 – 13 h (on campus)
Thu 16 – 18 h (via Zoom)

Programme Director

  • Prof. Dr. Lynn Rother

Minor Museum Studies

Minor im Leuphana Bachelor

Was sammeln wir, wenn wir sammeln? Was stellen wir nicht aus? Wie formen museale Praktiken das Verständnis von der Welt, in der wir leben? Der englischsprachige Minor Museum Studies an der Leuphana Universität beantwortet solche Fragen aus mehreren Perspektiven. Er verknüpft kritische Museologie, transkulturelle Kunstgeschichte, Erinnerungsforschung, Provenienzforschung und Konzepte der Kulturorganisation. Er bietet theoretische Grundlagen für die Beschäftigung mit dem matriellen und immatriellen Erbe der Menschheit und zwar sowohl aus aktueller wie historischer Perspektive. Der Studiengang bietet durch die Beteiligung von Museums- und Kulturerbe-Expert*innen auch Einblicke in die Praxis dieses Berufsfeldes.  

Das Programm befasst sich mit aktuellen Herausforderungen wie Dekolonisierung, Restitution, Erinnerung, Repräsentation, Partizipation und Zugänglichkeit, wie sie im Museumsbereich besonders deutlich werden. Es richtet sich an Studierende, die sich für Museen als Orte und Akteure der Produktion, Aushandlung und Transformation von Wissen interessieren und die etwas über die Rolle von Kultur in zeitgenössischen Gesellschaften  lernen wollen.

Ob Museen, Kulturorganisationen, Ausstellungsräume, Galerien, Privatsammlungen, Gedenkstätten oder Archiveinrichtungen - der Kulturbereich bietet zahlreiche Berufsmöglichkeiten.

Unsettled objects, 1968/69 ©Lothar Baumgarten
Lothar Baumgarten, Unsettled Objects, 1968/69, Slide projection, 81 35 mm slides, color, variable dimensions, Edition 3/5, Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2024, Photo: Axel Schneider

Minor Museum Studies studieren

Der B.A.-Minor Museum Studies ist der erste seiner Art in Deutschland, der vollständig auf Englisch unterrichtet wird. Eingebettet in ein internationales Netzwerk wird der Studiengang von Professor*innen mit langjähriger Erfahrung in und mit Kultureinrichtungen unterrichtet, darunter das MARKK in Hamburg, das Städel-Museum in Frankfurt, das Brücke Museum in Berlin und das Museum of Modern Art in New York. Zu den Dozent*innen gehören die Professor*innen Timon Beyes, Sven Kramer, Susanne Leeb, Lynn Rother, und  Beate Söntgen und die Juniorprofessur für transkulturelle Kunstgeschichte. Einige Seminare werden bei und mit Partner*innen aus dem Museums-, Kulturerbe- und Ausstellungsbereich, vor allem in Berlin und Hamburg, durchgeführt.

Der Minor bezieht sich nicht nur auf Kunstmuseen, sondern auch auf andere Arten von Museen und Kulturerbestätten. Er verfolgt einen kritischen und interdisziplinären Ansatz, den er insgesamt mit dem Major Kulturwissenschaften teilt. Der Kunstraum, ein künstlerischer Austellungs- und Projektraum, ist ein wichtiger und besonderer Bestandteil der Leuphana Universität. Hier finden zahlreiche Veranstaltungen und Seminare im Rahmen des Studiengangs Kulturwissenschaften und des Komplementärstudiengangs statt, und er bietet den Studierenden die Möglichkeit, mit Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen zusammenzuarbeiten.

Der englischsprachige Minor Museum Studies ergänzt den neuen englischsprachigen Major Culture Studies: Society, Organization and the Arts sowie den deutschsprachigen Major Kulturwissenschaften mit seinen Vertiefungsmöglichkeiten in Kultur- und Sozialtheorie, Kunst und visuelle Kultur, Kulturorganisation und Gesellschaft, Literarische Kulturen, Medienkulturwissenschaft, Musik und auditive Kultur oder im Wahlfach Wissensgeschichte. Er lässt sich weiterhin hervorragend kombinieren mit dem Studium Individuale oder den Major Studiengängen Economics, International Business Administration and Entrepreneurship oder Rechtswissenschaft. 

Studieninhalte

Im Minor erwerben Sie zunächst die Grundlagen für das Verständnis der vielschichtigen Beziehungen zwischen verschiedenen Museumstypen – etwa ethnologische, historische, naturhistorische Museen, Kunstmuseen – und den spezifischen Objekten, die hier gesammelt und ausgestellt werden. Als Orte der Vermittlung, Erfahrung und Verhandlung kultureller Werte sind Museen von zentraler Bedeutung für das Verständnis von Kulturorganisation – ein Thema, mit dem Sie sich im dritten Semester befassen werden. Ausstellungen wiederum spielen eine zentrale Rolle für die Vermittlung von Kultur und Wissen an verschiedene Publikumsgruppen und sind daher Gegenstand eines weiteren, eher praxisorientierten Moduls. Theorien, Geschichten und Konzepte zur Transkulturalität, zu Erbe und Erinnerung sowie zu Provenienz und Restitution vervollständigen das Programm, um aktuelle Herausforderungen und Diskurse über Museen, Kultur und Gesellschaft zu verstehen.

Studienaufbau

Der Minor Musem Studies ist in das interdisziplinäre College-Studienmodell der Leuphana, das sich aus dem Leuphana Semester, einem Major und einem Komplementärstudium zusammensetzt, eingebettet. Sie beginnen Ihr Bachelorstudium mit dem Leuphana Semester, in dem Sie die Grundlagen der Wissensproduktion und des universitären Lebens kennenlernen. Der Minor ergänzt Ihren Major. Im Komplementärstudium können Sie Ihrem Wissensdurst durch individuelles Studium nachgehen, indem Sie jedes Semester in ein anderes Wissensgebiet eintauchen.

Pflichtmodule

Leuphana Semester

  • Wissenschaft transformiert: verantwortliches Handeln. (fächerübergreifend)
  • Wissenschaft problematisiert: kritisches Denken. (fächerübergreifend)
  • Wissenschaft produziert: methodisches Wissen. (fächerübergreifend)
  • Wissenschaft nutzt Methoden II (fachspezifisch)
  • Wissenschaft kennt disziplinäre Grenzen (fachspezifisch)

2. Semester

  • Introducing Artifacts, Objects and Museums
  • 4 Major-Module
  • 1 Komplementär-Modul

3. Semester

  • The Museum as Organization and Institution
  • 4 Major-Module
  • 1 Komplementär-Modul

4. Semester

  • Concepts and Practices of Exhibiting
  • Theories and Practices of Memory and Heritage
  • 3 Major-Module
  • 1 Komplementär-Modul

5. Semester

  • Transcultural Histories and Theories of Museums
  • Concepts and Practices of Collecting, Provenance and Restitution
  • 3 Major-Module
  • 1 Komplementär-Modul

6. Semester

  • Bachelor-Arbeit
  • 1 Major-Modul
  • 2 Komplementär-Module

Studienordnung/Fachspezifische Anlagen

Studienordnungen / fachspezifische Anlagen

  • In der fachspezifischen Anlage zum Minor Museum Studies finden Sie detaillierte Informationen zu den Studieninhalten.
  • In der Anlage 5 zum Leuphana Semester finden Sie detaillierte Informationen zu den Studieninhalten im ersten Semester.

In der Anlage 8 zum Komplementärstudium finden Sie detaillierte Informationen zu den Studieninhalten der Komplementär-Module.

Major Kombinationsmöglichkeiten für den Minor Museum Studies

Cultural Studies (EN)
Digital Media (EN)
Economics (EN)
Global Environmental & Sustainability Studies (EN)
Ingenieurwissenschaften (DE)
International Business Administration & Entrepreneurship (EN)
Kulturwissenschaften (DE)
Politikwissenschaft (DE)
Rechtswissenschaft (DE)
Studium Individuale (EN)
Umweltwissenschaften (DE)
Wirtschaftsinformatik (DE)

Beruf und Karriere

Der Bachelor-Abschluss stellt eine erste berufliche Qualifikation dar. Absolvent*innen können beispielsweise in folgenden Bereichen arbeiten:

  • Kuratorische, Bildungs- oder Vermittlungsabteilungen in Museen, Gedenkstätten oder anderen Kulturerbestätten und kulturvermittelnden Institutionen
  • Stiftungen und NGOs mit Förderschwerpunkten und Programmen im Bereich Kunst und Kultur
  • Medien, Presse und Verlage mit einem Schwerpunkt auf kulturellen und geisteswissenschaftlichen Themen
  • Kunstvereine, Auktionshäuser, Kunstgalerien
  • Kulturtourismusbüros oder -unternehmen

Ein abgeschlossenes Bachelor-Studium ist auch Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zum Master-Studium. Absolvent*innen mit einem B.A.-Abschluss im Minor Museum Studies sind besonders qualifiziert für weiterführende M.A.-Studiengänge in Museums Studies oder Kulturwissenschaften sowie Kunstgeschichte, Geschichte, Erinnerungsforschung, Literaturwissenschaft oder Provenienzforschung – je nach gewähltem Major. Besonders geeignet für Absolvent*innen des Minor Museum Studies an der Leuphana Universität sind die kulturwissenschaftlichen M.A.-Studiengänge Cultural Studies: Culture and Organization (englischsprachig) oder Kulturwissenschaften: Kritik der Gegenwart – Künste, Theorie, Geschichte (deutschsprachig).

Auf einen Blick

  • Abschluss: der Minor Museum Studies kann nur in Kombination mit einem Major studiert werden
  • Zulassungsbeschränkung: nein
  • Studienplätze: 35
  • Lehr- und Prüfungssprache: Englisch

Informationsangebote für Studieninteressierte

Bachelor-Infotag 

+++ SAVE THE DATE 31.05.2024. +++ Mehr erfahren

Infomaterial

Er­fah­ren Sie mehr über das in­ter­dis­zi­plinäre Col­le­ge Stu­di­en­mo­dell. Infomaterial bestellen

Studienberatung

Klären Sie Ihre Fragen in einem persönlichen Gespräch während der Offenen Beratung. Sie können die digitale Beratung ohne Anmeldung kurzfristig in Anspruch nehmen. Die College Studienberaterinnen helfen Ihnen gern weiter:

  • mittwochs von 11-13 Uhr (in Präsenz auf dem Campus)
  • donnerstags von 16-18 Uhr (digital via Zoom)

Mehr erfahren

Kontakt & Beratung

Erstauskunft zu Studium und Bewerbung

Infoportal
Studierendenservice
Gebäude 8, Erdgeschoss
Campus Universitätsallee

Fon 04131.677-2277
Fax 04131.677-1430
studierendenservice@leuphana.de

Öffnungszeiten
Vorlesungszeit & Vorlesungsfreie Zeit
Mo bis Do 9 – 16 Uhr
Fr 9 – 12 Uhr

Beratungstermin vereinbaren

Studienberatung am College
Gebäude 8, Erdgeschoss
Campus Universitätsallee

Offene Beratung
Mi 11 – 13 Uhr (auf dem Campus)
Do 16 – 18 Uhr (digital via Zoom)
 

Minor-Verantowortliche

  • Prof. Dr. Lynn Rother